Bench Racing Ammo:  Silly Season Update III

Bench Racing Ammo Silly Season Update III

October 29, 2012 11:35am

Team Honda Muscle Milk
Trey Canard - Confirmed
Justin Barcia - Confirmed

Zach Bell - Confirmed
Justin Bogle - Confirmed
Zach Osborne - Confirmed
Wil Hahn - Confirmed
Eli Tomac - Confirmed
Kevin Windham - Confirmed

Note: Expect amateur recruit Matt Bisceglia to jump to the pros next year after Loretta's, and the team has signed another prospect in Jordon Smith.

TwoTwo Motorsports Honda
Chad Reed - Confirmed (Yes, Chad will re-sign himself)

Chaparral Honda
Andrew Short - Will enter second year of a two-year deal.

Lucas Oil/Troy Lee Designs Honda
Cole Seely - Confirmed
Christian Craig - Confirmed
Jessy Nelson – Confirmed
Shane McElrath - Confirmed

Notes: All three will ride Lites West SX, and Seely and Craig will ride 450s outdoors next summer. Amateur prospect Shane McElrath will make his pro debut sometime this summer; either at the opening round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championships or after Loretta’s.

Amateur prospect Shane McElrath made his debut for Lucas Oil/Troy Lee Desings Honda at the Monster Energy Cup.
Simon Cudby photo

Monster Energy Kawasaki
Jake Weimer - Confirmed
Ryan Villopoto - Confirmed

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki

Blake Baggett - Confirmed
Darryn Durham - Confirmed
Martin Davalos – Confirmed
Justin Hill - Confirmed

Note: Rumors are that Tyla Rattray could be a late edition to the team; riding 250 indoors and 450 out. Nothing is official as of today. Stay tuned.

Jeff Ward Racing Kawasaki
Dean Wilson - Confirmed

Note: Kyle Chisholm could still return to the team, now that Josh Grant has returned to JGR Yamaha.

Team Tedder/Monster Energy Kawasaki
Myles Tedder - Confirmed
Dakota Tedder - Confirmed

Dean Wilson is back on the bike and testing with JWR.
Ludovic Boinnard photo

Yoshimura Suzuki
James Stewart - Confirmed

Note: Brett Metcalfe's two-year (2011-2012) deal is up and it appears Suzuki will go with a one-rider team for 2013.

Rockstar Suzuki
Jason Anderson - Confirmed
Blake Wharton - Confirmed
Davi Millsaps (450s indoors and out) - Confirmed
Nico Izzi (Lites SX and 450 outdoors) - Confirmed
Ryan Sipes - Confirmed

RCH Racing Dodge/Sycuan Suzuki
Broc Tickle – Confirmed

Notes: This is the Hart & Huntington team reborn with Ricky Carmichael teaming with Carey Hart. They have factory Yoshimura/Suzuki bikes. Tickle will race supercross and motocross. Rumor is that Josh Hill has been chosen to be the final member of the team. Kyle Chisholm was also in the running for the spot. The second rider will race SX only.


Mike Alessi - Confirmed
Jake Canada - Confirmed

Notes: This team started 2012 as a five-rider squad with Vince Friese, Tommy Weeck and Jeff Alessi. We hear Jeff is off to Europe for a few races, and Friese may go to Arenacross.

Red Bull KTM

Ken Roczen - Confirmed
Marvin Musquin - Confirmed
Ryan Dungey - Confirmed

Note: We heard they made a run at Dean Wilson to be Dungey's teammate, but he went to JWR Kawasaki. They will continue with a one-rider 450 effort.

Malcolm Stewart - Confirmed. Mookie just extended his contract.

Notes: PJ Larsen is out after two injury-plagued seasons at JDR. The team is expected to announce the rest of their team members within the next few weeks—we hear amateur grad Joey Savatgy might get a spot with this team.

Broc Tickle has signed with the newly formed RCH Racing.
BrownDogWilson photo

Langston-Witt KTM
The team had already re-signed Les Smith for 2013, but sources say that suddenly the team has pulled the plug on operations and will not race next year (they will still pay Smith for his 2013 salary).

Michael Byrne - Confirmed
Matt Goerke - Confirmed

Note: This team picks up factory KTM support.

JGR Yamaha

Justin Brayton - Confirmed
Josh Grant – Confirmed

Star Racing Yamaha
Jeremy Martin - Confirmed
Kyle Cunningham – Confirmed
Cooper Webb – Confirmed (outdoors only)

Eleven10 Mods Yamaha
Alex Martin - Confirmed

Notes: Formerly a privateer team on Hondas, they now get Yamaha support. A second rider will be announced shortly.

Valli Motorsports Yamaha
Travis Baker – Confirmed

Notes: Valli goes back on its own after a year of merging with Star Racing. Baker will compete in the West Region Lites Class. Word is that Brett Metcalfe will join the team outdoors on the 450.

Josh Grant, along with new teammate Justin Brayton, made their JGR Yamaha debuts at the Monster Energy Cup.
Simon Cudby photo

Rock River Yamaha
Ben LaMay – Confirmed

Note: Rock River is expected to announce the remaining members of their team in the coming weeks.

Black Diamond MX Motocross Team

Zack Williams - Confirmed
Kurt McCabe - Confirmed

*All East Coast Lites

RF Motorsports USA
Collin Jurin – Confirmed

Note: Two additional riders coming soon.

Zack Freeberg – Confirmed

Note: One more rider is expected to be announced.

Other Notes:

MUNN Racing KTM held their tryouts this past weekend. An announcement should be made soon regarding their plans for 2013.

Kyle Peters - Is out at Star Racing and will be contesting the Lites Class on his own in 2013.

Derek Anderson - Privateer route for West Coast Lites. Which will be his first season in SX.

Cole Thompson - Nothing yet, should know by end of month.

Lance Vincent - Getting close to signing.

Matt Lemoine - Should know something soon.

Phil Nicoletti - Still trying to get plans together.

Remember, this is not a comprehensive list of every rider and team for 2013—but it's what we know to this date.