Blazusiak Dominates in Denver

October 8, 2012 9:15am

Denver, CO – Just one race ago, it appeared that the rest of the EnduroCross riders had closed the gap on KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak but he crushed the field in the Mile High city of Denver to reaffirm his dominance of the GEICO AMA EnduroCross series. Blazusiak got pushed back on the start but quickly passed Taylor Robert and Cody Webb to get into second. He then passed Mike Brown and took the lead before the end of the first lap and eventually won by a large margin. Robert, Brown and Webb had a fierce battle for second that ultimately went to Robert over Brown.

The day started with the MVP Racing Hot Lap, which puts the riders on the track one at a time against the clock to earn the best picks for the heat races and bragging rights. Lucas Oil / Rockstar backed Colton Haaker set a time that looked unbeatable but Taddy Blazusiak set a 1:03:591 to beat out Haaker’s 1:03:684. Monster Kawasaki’s Robert set the third fastest time.

Taylor Robert finished second overall in Denver.
Drew Ruiz photo

Robert, Brown and Blazusiak won the three heat races to get the best gate picks for the main event. Colorado local Kyle Calderini made the main by winning semi number one. Husky’s Cory Graffunder won semi two after a great batter with Haaker. Then Gary Sutherlin passed Geoff Aaron on the last lap of semi three to get into the main. The LCQ still had several top riders fighting for the final two spots in the main, which ultimately went to Wild Wally Palmer on the All Wheel Drive Christini ahead of Geoff Aaron on the GEICO Honda. Haaker, Bobby Prochnau and Destry Abbott all went down in the first turn and joined GEICO Honda’s Kevin Rookstool among the riders that missed making the main event.

After Blazusiak took the lead on the first lap, Monster Kawasaki’s Robert stayed close in second for four laps before a big crash in the Matrix section dropped him back to fourth behind Brown and Webb. First Brown and then Webb had problems that allowed Robert to get back to second a few laps later where he would ultimately finish. Webb, who came into the race in second in points took a long time getting his Beta to re-start after a crash and eventually went a lap down and finished tenth. Aaron rode a steady race to get fourth ahead of Justin Soule, who came back from a first lap crash. Husky’s Graffunder beat out his teammate, Kyle Redmond for sixth. Sutherlin got eighth, Palmer ninth, Webb tenth and Calderini eleventh.

Robert (left), Blazusiak (middle) and Brown (right) rounded out the podium.
Drew Ruiz photo

The night also included the Open Amateur class, which was won by David Broderick over Dustin McCarthy and Harrison Oswald. Bailey Tucker won the TrialsCross class over Joey Hamilton and Shad Petersen. The Vet 35+ class had over thirty riders entered and Kurt Nicoll took the win in the main event over Robert Farrington and Dennis Sweeten. Canada’s Chantelle Bykerk took her second women’s main event win in a row over fifteen year old Morgan Tanke and Louise Forsley.

Denver, Colorado GEICO EnduroCross, presented by Lucas Oil Expert Main Event results:

  1. Taddy Blazusiak            KTM
  2. Taylor Robert                Kawasaki
  3. Mike Brown                   KTM
  4. Geoff Aaron                  Honda
  5. Justin Soule                  Kawasaki
  6. Cory Graffunder            Husqvarna
  7. Kyle Redmond              Husqvarna
  8. Gary Sutherlin               Kawasaki
  9. Wally Palmer                 Christini
  10. Cody Webb                    Beta
  11. Kyle Calderini                Suzuki