Steel City 450 Moto 1 Report

Steel City 450 Moto 1 Report

September 1, 2012 2:10pm

The rolling hills of Delmont, Pennsylvania are the site of penultimate round of the 2012 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championships. Red Bull KTMs Ryan Dungey put the finishing touches on his second 450 National title weeks earlier at Unadilla, but plenty was still on the line as the series embarked on Pennsylvania for the second time in 2012.

Dungey would holeshot moto 1 with Davi Millsaps, Bobby Kiniry, Andrew Short, Mike Alessi and Nico Izzi in tow. Short quickly worked his way into second as Millsaps was left struggling to fend off Alessi, and Kiniry left pulling into the mechanics with an unspecified problem.

A revitalized Nico Izzi, in just his second race back from a back injury, made a big run early. Izzi had worked his way into fourth before crashing in the uphill triple triple section after the finish line. The early crash cost Izzi as he had to settle for eighth.

Up front, Dungey was methodically putting distance on Short, clicking off seconds as the laps ticked away. Meanwhile, JWR Josh Grant had quietly worked his way into fourth after getting around a shaky Millsaps.

Dungey would cruise to the moto win, his 15th of 17th. Short would capture second with Alessi rounding out the podium. Grant, Millsaps, Tyla Rattray, Jake Weimer, Izzi, Christian Craig and Kyle Chisholm rounded out the top-10.


450 Moto 1 Overall

  1. Ryan Dungey
  2. Andrew Short
  3. Mike Alessi
  4. Josh Grant
  5. Davi Millsaps
  6. Tyla Rattray
  7. Jake Weimer
  8. Nico Izzi
  9. Christian Craig
  10. Kyle Chisholm
  11. Phil Nicoletti
  12. Justin Brayton
  13. Ben LaMay
  14. PJ Larsen
  15. Vince Friese
  16. Jimmy Albertson
  17. Robby Marshall
  18. Austin Howell
  19. Jason Thomas
  20. Evgeny Mikhaylov
  21. Derek Anderson
  22. Ricky Renner
  23. Ronnie Stewart
  24. Dalton Carlson
  25. F. Smola
  26. Tucker Hibbert
  27. Michael Stryker
  28. Kevin Rookstool
  29. Shane Durham
  30. Jake Loberg
  31. Fredrik Noren
  32. Broc Tickle
  33. Bobby Kiniry
  34. Dakota Kessler
  35. Michael Giese
  36. Chris Blose
  37. Zach Freeberg
  38. Robert Lind
  39. Kyle Regal
  40. J. Lorenz