Steel City 250 Moto 1 Report

Steel City 250 Moto 1 Report

September 1, 2012 3:10pm

As clouds of desolate grey smothered the pristine hillsides of Steel City Raceway the first moto of the 250 Class began with many questions left to be answered. After back-to-back sub-par performances GEICO Honda’s Justin Barcia was facing a must-win scenario at Steel City, while all points leader Blake Baggett needed to do was stay out of trouble.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett took the lead early but quickly came under assault from the GEICO Honda duo of Barcia and Eli Tomac along with Ken Rozen. Baggett swiftly fell back to fourth and was never really a factor after the early portion of the race.

The tension of a must-win scenario for Barcia and Tomac showed early as the duo pushed the pace up front, distancing themselves from Roczen.  The German would fight back to pull within a couple of seconds of the pair, but faded back down the stretch.

Barcia would stretch his lead, only to have Tomac reel him back in—with Tomac seeming content on sitting patiently behind his teammate waiting for an opportunity. The opportunity would finally present itself right before the two lap board waved. Tomac struck quickly and never looked back from there en route to the moto 1 win. Barcia would hold on for second with Roczen taking home third. Baggett, Marvin Musquin, Malcolm Stewart, Blake Wharton, Alex Martin, Wil Hahn and Kyle Cunningham rounded out the top 10.

250 Moto 1 Overall

  1. Eli Tomac
  2. Justin Barcia
  3. Ken Roczen
  4. Blake Baggett
  5. Marvin Musquin
  6. Malcolm Stewart
  7. Blake Wharton
  8. Alex Martin
  9. Wil Hahn
  10. Kyle Cunningham
  11. Jake Canada
  12. Jessy Nelson
  13. Jason Anderson
  14. Jeremy Martin
  15. Travis Baker
  16. Martin Davalos
  17. Cole Thompson
  18. Ryan Sipes
  19. Mike McDade
  20. Kyle Peters
  21. Jackson Richardson
  22. Dakota Tedder
  23. Tevin Tapia
  24. Broc Schmelyun
  25. Justin Bogle
  26. Gannon Audette
  27. Joey Peters
  28. Kevion Keniot
  29. Vann Martin
  30. Chris Canning
  31. Ryan Zimmer
  32. AJ Catanzaro
  33. Bubba Pauli
  34. J. Dalzell
  35. Luke Vonlinger
  36. Sean Hackley
  37. Jacob Hayes
  38. Justin Starling
  39. Steve Roman
  40. Daniel Herrlein