The Vault:  History from RedBud

The Vault: History from RedBud

July 5, 2012 12:00pm

If you’ve visited the Racer X Vault, [] you’re already familiar with the most complete and comprehensive online database of results from AMA motocross and supercross in existence. If you haven’t visited the Vault, why not? Only the Racer X Vault has catalogued each and every result from every single pro AMA motocross and supercross race ever held. It’s a great way to settle a bench racing argument, and because the information can be sifted through by year, venue or individual rider, any data you are searching for is always just a couple clicks away. Data is even searchable by brand!

This week, we’re opening The Vault to highlight the history of this weekend’s host site for Lucas Oil Pro Motocross, RedBud MX in Buchanan, MI. Named after the many RedBud trees that grow in the area, the venue is the largest race of the year, and carries the reputation of drawing some of the most, ahem, enthusiastic fans of the series. Of course, in addition to all of the excitement that is always generated off the track on a RedBud race weekend, there’s also been some pretty good races there, too. Let’s dive number plate first into the Racer X Vault and take a look at the results from some of the most memorable races in this historic venue’s history.

The first National at RedBud took place in 1974. Ken Zahrt won the 250 race on a Bultaco, while Mike Hartwig topped the 500 class on a Yamaha.

In 1986, Ricky Johnson’s first year with Honda, Johnson had what he describes as one his best battles ever at RedBud. In the 500 class, he took fourth in the first moto behind Johnny O’Mara, David Bailey and Jeff Ward, then made a few changes and won the second moto to take the overall.

Despite being the local favorite (so much so that even the track’s signature jump is named after him), Mike LaRocco has never won an overall at RedBud.

LaRocco may have the Leap, but he never did get a RedBud win.
Racer X archives

LaRocco isn’t the only champ that’s winless at RedBud, six-time WMX champion Jessica Patterson also has yet to win an overall there, although that could change this weekend.

With eleven premier class wins to their credit, Honda has won more at RedBud than any other manufacturer.

RC airs it out en route to one of Honda's many victories at the track.

In 1998, Jeff Emig and Ricky Carmichael gave Kawasaki their first ever brand sweep at RedBud, a feat that would be repeated ten years later by James Stewart and Ryan Villopoto

Jeff Emig won at RedBud. A lot.
Racer X Archives

Jeff Emig and Trey Canard both took the first National win of their 250 (called 125 class in Emig's day) careers at RedBud. Emig did it in 1992, and Canard did it in 2010

Speaking of first time winners, RedBud has produced several of them in the premier class as well. Ken Zahrt won in 1974, Steve Wise in 1980, Mike Kiedrowski in 1992 and Josh Grant in 2009.

In 2009, Josh Grant took his one-and-only 450 MX overall at RedBud.

Larry Ward's 2001 win at RedBud was a big one, marking a rare privateer overall win, and also  the first MX overall for a 250F.

There you have it, just a small sample of the kind of bench racing ammo that can be located in the Racer X Vault. Head over there and have a look around, and be sure to share your interesting RedBud findings in the comments section below.