Salt Lake City Super Spoiler Report

April 29, 2012 12:10am | by:
A look at the results tonight will say that Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey took the win, but that doesn’t at all explain how close the race for the victory was. For most of the race, it looked like Dungey didn’t have a shot, in fact. Davi Millsaps grabbed the holeshot on his JGR Toyota Yamaha, while Dungey started second but was quickly passed by Jake Weimer. Weimer was riding well and kept Millsaps honest, with Dungey starting to put things together after a few laps. Then Dungey got inside of Weimer on the start straight and started the game of cat and mouse, standing Weimer up a bit to take second. Weimer wasn’t happy and rode Dungey high in the next turn, and then did it again in the next and knocked Dungey down. Meanwhile, Millsaps had built a 3.5 second lead by the halfway mark.

Then Dungey got fired up. He started clicking off hard, fast laps, closing back in on Weimer after the knockdown. Everyone braced for a Dungey revenge pass, but he didn’t need it when Weimer left the door open in a 90 degree turn, allowing Dungey to take the inside and take second in a clean pass.

Dungey closed on Millsaps, but it appeared he wouldn’t have time to catch him for the win, until Millsaps started to get jacked by lapped traffic. Then, on the 18th lap, Millsaps made a huge mistake in a rhythm lane, and Dungey shot past to steal the lead just before the white flag came out. And with that, the Minnesota man was on his way to his third win of the year.

Millsaps took second—surely disappointed after leading 18 laps—while Monster Energy Kawaskai's Weimer, Honda Muscle Milk's Justin Brayton and Motoconcept's Mike Alessi rounded out the top five.


Main Event

1. R. Dungey

2. D. Millsaps

3. J. Weimer

4. J. Brayton

5. M. Alessi

6. B. Tickle

7. A. Short

8. J. Grant

9. R. Kiniry

10. T. Bowers

11. M. Goerke

12. W. Peick

13. N. Wey

14. G. Faith

15. J. Thomas

16. C. Blose

17. K. Chisholm

18. J. Albertson

19. K. Regal

20. B. Metcalfe


Heat 1

1. J. Weimer

2. A. Short

3. B. Tickle

4. M. Alessi

5. K. Regal

6. B. Metcalfe

7. G. Faith

8. K. Chisholm

9. J. Thomas

10. J. Grant

11. P. Mull

12. A. Enticknap

13. C. Gilmore

14. C. Howell

15. K. Urquhart

16. B. Ripple

17. M. Akaydin

18. D. Vawser

19. C. Schlacht

20. B. Hall


Heat 2

1. D. Millsaps

2. J. Brayton

3. R. Dungey

4. T. Bowers

5. M. Goerke

6. J. Albertson

7. C. Blose

8. N. Wey

9. W. Peick

10. R. Kiniry

11. A. Politelli

12. J. Sipes

13. M. Horban

14. A. Ray

15. J. Potter

16. J. Oswald

17. J. Odriscoll

18. R. Clark

19. G. Crater

20. R. Noftz



1. R. Kiniry

2. J. Grant

3. J. Sipes

4. R. Clark

5. M. Horban

6. A. Enticknap

7. C. Gilmore

8. A. Politelli

9. P. Mull

10. G. Crater

11. J. Oswald

12. C. Howell

13. A. Ray

14. B. Ripple

15. K. Urquhart

16. J. Odriscoll

17. M. Akaydin

18. J. Potter

19. D. Vawser

20. R. Noftz

21. B. Hall

22. C. Schlacht

The Lites class was a shocker right off the bat. Jason Anderson plowed into Ryan Sipes in the first turn….of the parade lap. It was a hard hit, but both riders got up, and then Anderson pulled the holeshot in the main and immediately started pulling away!

Meanwhile, Dean Wilson, sore shoulder and all, moved up into second, ahead of Marvin Musquin and Martin Davalos. But soon Wilson’s title rival, Eli Tomac, was on the move, charging from about 7th to challenge the leaders. Davalos tried a move on Musquin and couldn’t triple, allowing Tomac to swoop past him. Moments later, Tomac pulled a slick move on the inside of the start sweeper to get past Musquin. That put him into third, then Wilson made a few mistakes, allowing Tomac to close and set up a title battle. A few laps later, Tomac made a clean pass on the inside to take over second.

At one point, Anderson had a lead of 5.2 seconds, but in the second half of the race, he began to falter, making big mistakes and allowing the Tomac/Wilson battle to close in. Tomac executed a quick pass to take the lead.

Then, suddenly, the title picture changed completely when Wilson, running third, swapped in the whoops before the finish and crashed hard. Already ailing, that knocked him out of the race, and suddenly, surprisingly, Tomac was in position to wrap up the championship. A few laps later, he won the race, and combined with Wilson’s 19th-place finish (and a DNS for Cole Seely, who crashed out in practice), GEICO Honda's Tomac had suddenly clinched the 2012 Lites West Championship!


Main Event

1. E. Tomac

2. J. Anderson

3. M. Davalos

4. W. Hahn

5. M. Musquin

6. M. Moss

7. B. Laninovich

8. T. Ingalls

9. V. Friese

10. S. Champion

11. K. Rusk

12. L. Powell

13. P. Tilford

14. B. Hudson

15. C. Plouffe

16. R. Sipes

17. M. Tedder

18. T. Bright

19. D. Wilson

20. C. Jurin


Heat 1

1. D. Wilson

2. W. Hahn

3. M. Moss

4. R. Sipes

5. C. Plouffe

6. T. Ingalls

7. K. Rusk

8. M. Tedder

9. B. Hudson

10. P. Tilford

11. R. Smith

12. T. Bell

13. M. Alcorn

14. B. Rangel

15. B. Foster

16. J. Hicks

17. B. Nauditt

18. C. Church

19. C. Seely


Heat 2

1. E. Tomac

2. J. Anderson

3. M. Davalos

4. B. Laninovich

5. M. Musquin

6. V. Friese

7. L. Powell

8. T. Bright

9. C. Jurin

10. C. Martinez

11. J. Greco

12. S. Champion

13. E. Meusling

14. B. Gillespie

15. S. Rhinehart

16. D. Schmoke

17. R. Rangel

18. J. Withrow

19. T. Baker



1. S. Champion

2. P. Tilford

3. R. Smith

4. T. Bell

5. J. Greco

6. E. Meusling

7. C. Martinez

8. C. Church

9. S. Rhinehart

10. M. Alcorn

11. B. Gillespie

12. B. Rangel

13. D. Schmoke

14. J. Withrow

15. B. Nauditt

16. R. Rangel

17. B. Foster

18. J. Hicks

19. C. Seely

20. T. Baker