KTM's Russell Takes GNCC Win


Russell Wins Big at The General GNCC

Washington, GA – Factory FMF/KTM rider Kailub Russell took the win at second round of the GNCC Series dubbed ‘The General’ marking his second XC1 class win of his professional career.

Russell had a rough start off the line coming around the first corner mid-pack. He quickly set to work to pick up some positions and was able to cross the one lap mark in 5th place. Meanwhile, his teammates Cory Buttrick and Charlie Mullins had both earned great starts and were sitting in 2nd and 3rd place respectively.

The next lap, reigning National Enduro Champion and Georgia native, Russell Bobbitt, made a miraculous climb through the pack to move into the lead. Unfortunately, he got stuck in a huge mud hole shortly after and lost valuable time and positions.

Bobbitt’s holdup allowed Mullins a chance to move into the lead. The reigning GNCC Champion was able to hold the lead for the next three laps before a hard charging Russell was able to chase him down and make the pass for the lead. Russell held on to the lead for the final two laps and went on to take his second XC1 career victory by 28 seconds over Mullins. Buttrick was able to put in a solid ride to finish 6th and Bobbitt finished 13th.

The XC2 class was won by KTM rider Steward Baylor after an all day battle with Jason Thomas for the win. Baylor won by a 19 second margin and now holds a 17 point lead in the series.

Maintaining her perfect streak was Factory FMF/KTM rider Maria Forsberg who won her second race of the season. Forsberg, who is an expert in the mud, was able to pull a commanding lead and won the race by over 5 minutes. Four of the top five female riders were aboard KTM motorcycles.

Next Round: Morganton, NC – March 31 – April 1, 2012

XC1 Class Results –

  1. Kailub Russell – KTM
  2. Charlie Mullins – KTM
  3. Paul Whibley
  4. Nate Kanney
  5. Thad Duvall
  6. Cory Buttrick – KTM
  7. Garrett Edmisten
  8. Rory Mead – KTM
  9. Chris Bach
  10. Takeshi Koikeda – KTM

XC2 Class Results –

  1. Steward Baylor – KTM
  2. Jason Thomas
  3. Glenn Kearney
  4. Jesse Robinson
  5. Jedediah Haines
  6. Dustin Gibson – KTM
  7. Brad Bakken
  8. Cole Kirkpatrick – KTM
  9. Cody Gragg
  10. Ricky Mair – KTM

Women’s Class Results –

  1. Maria Forsberg – KTM
  2. Ashley Crouch – KTM
  3. Sarah Whitmore – KTM
  4. Hannah Otto – KTM
  5. Mandi Mastin
  6. Felecia Robichaud – KTM
  7. Leeann Bange
  8. Rebecca Sheets
  9. Jordan Milbauer
  10. Louise Forsley – KTM

XC1 Overall Points –

  1. Paul Whibley – 51
  2. Charlie Mullins – 50
  3. Kailub Russell – 39

XC2 Overall Points –

  1. Steward Baylor – 60
  2. Jason Thomas – 43
  3. Jesse Robinson – 43

Women’s Overall Points –

  1. Maria Forsberg – 40
  2. Sarah Whitmore – 37
  3. Hannah Otto – 35