Silly Season:  Countdown to Anaheim

Silly Season: Countdown to Anaheim

December 14, 2011 9:30am
We’re within just a few weeks of the opening of the 2012 Monster Energy Supercross Championship, and even still, not every rider or team has a plan set in place. But most of the puzzle has filled in. To keep you up to date, here's an updated list of teams and riders, as well as an additional round up of rumors we're hearing if plans aren't locked in yet.

Monster Energy Kawasaki
Ryan Villopoto

Jake Weimer

What we hear: This team has also announced a new team manager in Dan Fahie, who has replaced Mike Fisher, who was let go at the end of the 2011 season. Fahie was team manager for Kawasaki's AMA Road Racing efforts before moving over to the supercross/motocross team to help with bike development.


Red Bull KTM
Ryan Dungey
Ken Roczen
Marvin Musquin


Factory Suzuki
Brett Metcalfe

What we hear: Suzuki lost out on the Stewart sweepstakes to JGR. They will go with a one-rider team with Metcalfe for 2012.


Dodge Motorsports/Hart & Huntington
Ivan Tedesco
Josh Hill
Kyle Partridge
Josh Hansen


TwoTwo Motorsports Honda
Chad Reed

What we hear: No teammate for Reedy for 2012.


Rockstar Energy Drink Suzuki
Blake Wharton
Jason Anderson
Martin Davalos
Hunter Hewitt


Joe Gibbs Racing Yamaha
James Stewart
Davi Millsaps


Mike Alessi
Jeff Alessi
Vince Friese
Tommy Weeck (Lites)
Jake Canada (Lites)

Muscle Milk/American Honda
Justin Brayton

Trey Canard
Ashley Fiolek


Kevin Windham
Eli Tomac
Justin Barcia
Wil Hahn
Justin Bogle (Lites)
Jimmy DeCotis (Lites)

What we hear: We know, we know, Barcia rode the 450 very well outdoors, but he has a Lites East #1 plate to defend. He'll be back on the 250.

We talked with Jimmy DeCotis earlier this week and he will be back with GEICO Honda, but only for supercross.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki

Blake Baggett
Dean Wilson
Tyla Rattray
Darryn Durham
Broc Tickle


Rockstar Valli/Star Racing Yamaha
Ryan Morais

Nico Izzi

Austin Stroupe
Kyle Cunningham
Gareth Swanepoel
Ryan Sipes
Kyle Peters (Lites)

What we hear: It appears Star Racing and Valli will team up for 2012, running one semi for supercross (since the rig will only have to house two Lites riders for each SX event) and possibly two rigs to house all eight riders outdoors. And what happened to the supposed Metal Mulisha takeover of the Valli team? Those rumors have gone cold, hence the new Valli link up with Star.

As of 11-16-11, Chad Lanza of Valli says official press release with official team and sponsors is just around the corner. In talks with JP$, but as of now, she isn't signed.

Malcolm Stewart
PJ Larsen
Matt Moss (Lites)
Ryan Marmont (Lites) // East

What we hear: Tye Simmonds will be racing for the JDR team in Australia, but not in the U.S.


Brooks/McGrath Honda
Andrew Short

What we hear: It's beginning to sound more and more like Short will be the only rider on this team for 2012.


Jeff Ward / Mike Kranyak Racing
Josh Grant
Kyle Chisholm

Troy Lee Designs/ Lucas Oil / Honda
Christian Craig
(Lites) // 450 Outdoors
Travis Baker
Cole Seely
(Lites) / BBMX / Palmetto Suzuki
Michael Byrne
Jason Thomas
Jimmy Albertson

What we hear: It looks like one of the final pieces of the off-season puzzle is finally in place. Sources have confirmed as of Friday Nov. 18th that Albertson has signed with the Suzuki team.

Mafia M/C

Nick Wey

What we hear: Wey has announced that he will be joining forces with Team TiLUBE Foremost Racing for 2012. They are expected to sign one more 450 rider for SX only. Stay tuned for an official announcement.

HRT Racing

Matt Lemoine
Nick Myers (Lites)

Eleven10 Mods

Alex Martin

Dragon Racing Fuels/AG Motorsports/Cernics KTM
Gannon Audette

Öhlins USA
Les Smith (Lites) // East // 450 Outdoors
AJ Catanzaro (Lites)
Taylor Futrell

What we hear: Multi-time AMA National Champion Grant Langston will be team manager for this team.

Les Smith will be contesting the Lites East Series, and then making the switch to the 450 for outdoors.

Munn Racing KTM & Moto Innovations
Lance Vincent
Sean Hackley Jr.

Team 51fifty Energy Drink/Naveen Honda Racing
Chris Plouffe

Team Tedder-Monster Energy Racing
Dakota Tedder
Myles Tedder


Diesel Tech
Jeremy Girard


RockRiver Powersports
Jarred Browne
Ben LaMay (450 West/250 East)
Alex Millican
Joey Peters Lites//East
Seth Caldwell Lites//East
Amanda Maheu (WMX)

Drew Gosselaar (Lites) // West
Bruce Rutherford (Lites) // West
Killy Rusk (Lites) // West


RF Motorsports USA
Chris Howell
Collin Jurin


Other Privateers:

What we hear:

Terren O'Dell will be back this year contesting the West Coast Lites Class.

Michael Leib is returning from Europe and will be racing the West Coast Lites Class with help from Rocket Exaust and Eleven 10Mods.


Other News:

What we hear: Tommy Hahn announced that he will go the privateer route aboard a Honda. Weege sat down with him last week to discuss his plans for 2012. Check out the interview HERE.


Have info on other privateer riders or teams? Email