Film Fest Semi-Finalists Announced

November 4, 2011 1:10pm | by:

We're extremely pleased to announce the eight semi-finalists of the 2011 GoPro/Racer X Amateur Film Festival. We had nearly 80 entries this year, so competition was fierce, but our panel of judges have named the semi-finalists, in no particular order:

Ian Gutierrez
Morris, NY

Keven St-Pierre
Quebec, Canada

Kyle Galbraith
Tualatin, OR

Robert Slate
Southwick, MA

Will Posey
Dalton, GA

Nick Gust
Pescadero, CA

Brandon Biro
Simi Valley, CA

Mike LeGrand
Pittsburgh, PA

Our judging panel was made up of Racer X staffers, industry videographers, and representatives from contest sponsors GoPro, Answer, MSR, and Pro Taper. All qualifying entries have provided proof of music rights.

There were a lot of great videos that didn't make the top eight this year, and we hope those who didn't make the cut stay encouraged and start thinking about next year's competition. Thanks to everyone who put hard work into this year's contest!

The first round of public voting will begin later today and will last for one week. Keep your eyes on Racer X for your chance to watch the first two qualifying videos and vote for your favorite.