450 Moto 1 Report: RedBud

450 Moto 1 Report: RedBud

July 2, 2011 3:00pm

Coming into the half-way mark of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship three riders had separated themselves from the rest of the pack. Chad Reed, Ryan Dungey and Ryan Villopoto had pushed themselves to the limit and beyond early in the season.

But it was Villopoto’s teammate Jake Weimer who would rocket out of the gate and grab the holeshot over Davi Millsaps and Reed. Weimer’s time up front was short lived as he was gobbled up early by Millsaps, Reed and Dungey. Weimer’s troubles would not end there as he would have mechanical troubles later in the race resulting in a DNF.

Meanwhile Villopoto was having problems of his own as he tangled with Tommy Hahn off the start, and went down hard, resulting in Hahn having to pull out of the race with an undisclosed injury and Villopoto rounding the first lap in 37th.

Up front it was JGR’s Davi Millsaps setting the pace early with Reed and Duney following suit. Dungey’s teammate Brett Metcalfe was able to get around Weimer for fourth early but the top three had already began to separate themselves from the pack.

Millsaps was able to resist the advances of Reed and Dungey early, but finally succumb to the pressure at the half-way point as both Reed and Dungey were able to skate by the leader. Reed looked to have the moto wrapped up after getting by Millsaps but Dungey was relentless and tracked down Reed late in the race.

Dungy would hound Reed all the way to the finish line, but Reed was able to hang on for the dramatic moto one win. Millsaps would take third with Metcalfe and Brayton taking home fourth and fifth respectfully.  Ryan Villopoto would charge all the way to the finish to take home 9th, but lost valuable championship points to Reed and Dungey.

450 Moto 1 Results

  1. Reed
  2. Dungey
  3. Millsaps
  4. Metcalfe
  5. Brayton
  6. Short
  7. Grant
  8. Alessi
  9. Villopoto
  10. Craig
  11. Canada
  12. Windham
  13. T. Sewell
  14. Wey
  15. Albertson
  16. LaMay
  17. Simmonds
  18. Keylon
  19. Rookstool
  20. S. Sewell