WSMX "Winning Form" Bonus Award

June 1, 2011 9:20am
WSMX “Winning Form” Bonus awarded to qualifying WMX Contenders at All 2011 AMA/MX Sports Nationals!

WSMX founder Debbie Matthews is passionate about Women's Motocross. So passionate in fact that she was one of the original founders of The Women's Motocross League (WML) which met with the AMA, NPG (National Promoters Group) to create the first ever AMA Women's Professional Motocross Championships held in conjunction with the Men's AMA National MX Championship Series in 1996. The WML was later rebranded as the WMA and sold to MX Sports in 2009.

When Matthews left the WML in 2000, she founded WSMX-Women's School of Motocross and continues to give back to the community helping riders along the way, and creating opportunities for growth and development. One of the first riders she worked with is now 2x AMA National Champion and 2x X-Games Gold Medalist Ashley Fiolek, along with a host of other top 10 Women pro and Amateur racers. Her latest support includes WMX Pro riders Jacqueline Strong, Danielle Sawicki and Heather Lockwood.

Debbie wants to continue to see Women's MX grow and in 2011 instituted the WSMX "Winning Form" Award, of $100 per round, given to the top Women's Pro finisher at each National sporting the WSMX logo in both motos. The first recipient of the “Winning Form” award was WSMX rider Jacqueline Strong at the Hangtown National via her 5th overall, while the award for the Freestone National is on the way to Tatum Sik who also finished 5th at Freestone.