Daytona Supercross Super Spoiler Report

March 5, 2011 11:15pm | by:

The drama and unpredictable circumstances continued in AMA Supercross tonight from Daytona, but this time they've resulted in a bigger points lead for one rider. Ryan Villopoto rode through the chaos, again, to deliver his second-straight win, and stretch his lead to 23 points.

But he may not have been the fastest rider. James Stewart jumped out to the early lead and started putting a big gap between himself and Villopoto early. But on lap four, Stewart went over the bars, hard, on a triple jump and slammed into the ground. His bike stayed on two wheels and launched the next triple by itself, so by the time Stewart got up, limping, he had to walk his way all the way back to his bike. By the time he got up, he was last.

Meanwhile Villopoto had a big lead and put down hard laps on one of the most demanding Daytona tracks in quite some time. The battle was on behind him, with Davi Millsaps, Andrew Short, Chad Reed and Ryan Dungey in the mix. Reed moved into second, and Dungey, who had to come through the LCQ after his bike broke while leading his heat race, got to third but couldn't close the gap on Reed. That rounded out the podium.

Trey Canard went down on lap one and then crashed again when Brett Metcalfe swapped in front of him while coming through. Metcalfe ended up 18th, and Canard 13th.

Stewart managed to get up, straighten his mangled bike, and dig his way back through the pack. Villopoto was close to lapping him for the entire main, but he never got by, and Stewart clawed up to ninth to salvage points after a hard crash.

In Lites, the show was all Blake Bagget. The California kid nailed the holeshot and simply checked out from Justin Barcia and Ryan Sipes, who were second and third. Dean Wilson crashed on the first lap and spent several laps just hammering his clutch lever back into position. He fought back to eighth.


450 Results

1. R. Villopoto

2. C. Reed

3. R. Dungey

4. A. Short

5. D. Millsaps

6. J. Brayton

7. K. Windham

8. K. Roczen

9. J. Stewart

10. M. Alessi

11. I. Tedesco

12. M. Boni

13. T. Canard

14. M. Byrne

15. N. Wey

16. F. Izoird

17. T. Simmonds

18. B. Metcalfe

19. C. Blose

20. M. Goerke


250 Results

1. B. Baggett

2. J. Barcia

3. R. Sipes

4. B. Wharton

5. P. Larsen

6. J. Anderson

7. M. Stewart

8. D. Wilson

9. M. Lemoine

10. L. Smith

11. L. Vincent

12. T. Futrell

13. A. Martin

14. L. Kilbarger

15. A. Catanzaro

16. H. Clements

17. N. Izzi

18. K. Keylon

19. H. Hewitt

20. R. Zimmer