Red Bull KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak Wins EnduroCross Season Opener

July 19, 2010 12:04pm

Las Vegas, NV – It was no surprise to EnduroCross fans that after only two months back on the bike Red Bull KTM rider and defending EnduroCross Champion, Taddy Blazusiak, came out swinging at the opening round of the AMA EnduroCross Series to take the holeshot and eventually the overall win.

It was Christini/KTM rider Geoff Aaron who set the fastest lap time earlier in the day for first gate pick going into the heat races. The first heat was a good battle between Aaron and Blazusiak with Blazusiak eventually taking the win and Aaron qualifying in 2nd. The second heat race was won by FMF/KTM rider Mike Brown. Kyle Redmond finished 2nd behind him to qualify into the main. The top qualifiers in the third heat were winner Cory Graffunder and 2nd place Kyle Redmond. RPM/KTM rider Kevin Rookstool squeaked into the main event at the last second after taking the win in the final semi race.

It was Blazusiak who would grab the holeshot (earning the $750 Girardi Wealth Management Holeshot Award) at the start of the main event followed closely by Geoff Aaron. Both riders battled for the first few laps until Aaron went down in the rock section and handed Blazusiak a lead he would keep all the way to the finish line. Aaron eventually recovered from his crash to finish in 2nd while Graffunder finished 3rd just barely edging out a hard-charging Brown in 4th.

Next Round: Guthrie, OK – August 14, 2010

Overall Results –
1. Taddy Blazusiak – KTM
2. Geoff Aaron – Christini/KTM
3. Cory Graffunder
4. Mike Brown – KTM
5. Justin Soulè
6. Gary Sutherlin
7. Kyle Redmond
8. Jamie Lanza
9. Destry Abbott
10. Cody Webb
11. Kevin Rookstool – KTM