RedBud Race Report

July 3, 2010 11:59pm | by:

On the last lap, with Townley still leading, and fighting off the advances of Dungey, Townley went down when he overjumped a step-up in the back of the track, landed in the ruts and cross-rutted. His bike careened right into Reed’s path, handing the lead to Dungey and holding up Reed.

Dungey took the win over Reed, Short, Townley, Metcalfe, Grant, Kyle Regal, Ryan Sipes, Nick Wey and Mike Alessi (who went down on the opening lap and charged through for an impressive 10th place).A lot of things in sports are considered to be past due, or a long time coming. These things, by definition, are things that are expected to have either happened by now, or to happen eventually. They’re expected to happen. Despite winning the Lites East Supercross Championship in his rookie season in 2008, GEICO Powersports Honda’s Trey Canard has never won an AMA National moto, much less an overall.

He was past due coming into RedBud today on Independence Day weekend in Buchanan, Michigan.


Points leader Chris Pourcel, from the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki team, led his two teammates, Tyla Rattray and Jake Weimer, off the line to start the first moto, with Canard’s teammate Justin Barcia, DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha’s Broc Tickle, his teammate Nico Izzi, Dean Wilson, Blake Wharton and the rest of the field in tow.  

  • Ben Townley (101) leads Ryan Dungey (5) in the first moto. Townley led until the last lap, when he fell.
  • Townley checks back on Dungey (5), Josh Grant (hidden behind Townley), Andrew Short (29) and Chad Reed (1) in the first-moto freight-train.
  • Andrew Short led for a bit and ended up with a 3-5 for fourth overall.
  • Brett Metcalfe (24) chases Short (29) in the second moto. Metcalfe passed Short and went 5-4 for fifth overall.
  • Townley flies in formation with Dungey during the first-moto battle, in front of thousands of lucky fans.
Short grabbed the second-moto holeshot over Dungey, Townley, Reed, Metcalfe, Alessi, Matt Moss, Regal, Dan Reardon, and Jarred Browne, but Dungey was soon by and into the lead and began to pull away. Townley also passed Short on that lap and Reed followed soon after. Eventually, Metcalfe also passed the reeling Honda Red Bull Racing rider. At about the halfway point, Reed made it by Townley for second, but he couldn’t eat into Dungey’s lead too much.

Dungey took his fifth national victory in a row over Reed, Townley, Short, Metcalfe, Grant, Regal, Sipes, Alessi and Wey, and Dungey now holds a 64-point lead at the halfway point in the championship chase.


In Women’s motocross, Ashley Fiolek finally found her stride and grabbed both holeshots and led both races from wire to wire over Jessica Patterson, who had won every other moto to this point in the championship. Tarah Gieger was third yet again. 

  • Ashley Fiolek (1) grabbed both WMX holeshots at RedBud over Jessica Patterson (2).
  • Fiolek won both motos, which were the first two motos of this season that Patterson (2) has lost.
Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship
Rockstar Energy RedBud National
Buchanan, Mich.?July 3, 2010
Round 6 of 12
450 Class (Moto Finish)

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (1-1)
2. Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki (2-2)
3. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda (4-3)
4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (3-5)
5. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda (5-4)
6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha (6-6)
7. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda (7-7)
8. Ryan Sipes, Flaherty, Texas, Yamaha (8-8)
9. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM (10-9)
10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Kawasaki (9-12)
450 Class Championship Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 268
2. Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 204
3. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 201
4. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 189
5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 189
6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 182
7. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 177
8. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda, 122
9. Ryan Sipes, Flaherty, Texas, Yamaha, 114
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 108
250 Class (Moto Finish)
1. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda (4-1)
2. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki (3-2)
3. Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki (1-5)
4. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda (5-3)
5. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda (6-4)
6. Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki (2-11)
7. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha (7-6)
8. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki (11-7)
9. Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha (10-8)
10. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (12-9)
250 Class Championship Standings
1. Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki, 260
2. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 227
3. Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki, 212
4. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 205
5. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 180
6. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 176
7. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 156
8. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 145
9. Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha, 132
10. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 129
WMX Class (Moto Finish)
1. Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda (1-1)
2. Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha (2-2)
3. Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda (3-3)
4. Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki (7-4)
5. Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha (5-5)
6. Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM (6-6)
7. Tatum Sik, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha (9-7)
8. Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha (8-8)
9. Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha (4-15)
10. Erica Cook, Natalia, Texas, Yamaha (10-9)
WMX Class Championship Standings (After 4 of 8 Rounds)
1. Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha, 194
2. Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda, 174
3. Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda, 149
4. Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha, 121
5. Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki, 120
6. Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha, 110
7. Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM, 102
8. Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha, 96
9. Tatum Sik, Temecula, Calif., Yamaha, 94
10. Erica Cook, Natalia, Texas, Yamaha, 84