Budds Creek Privateer Award

June 14, 2010 3:20pm

Southern Maryland Dirt Riders Club will be awarding their sixth annual Southern Maryland Dirt Riders Privateer Award at the AMA Motocross National at Budds Creek on Saturday, June 19th, to two lucky privateers. This is the fourth year that the award is given in the memory of Kevin Crine #574.

Along with a beautiful plaque which will be awarded on the podium after the race by our club president Steve Blinn, each rider will receive a minimum of a fifteen hundred dollars apiece. We are still collecting money so the amount could rise. There will be one 250 rider and one 450 rider selected from the pool of riders that qualify for the Budds Creek race. The money that is given to the privateers is donated by club members at Southern Maryland Dirt Riders club events leading up to the Budds Creek National. Southern Maryland Dirt Riders, is a non profit recreational riding club, dedicated to all segments of the off road riding sport. Our goals are to promote and expand safe/responsible/enjoyable riding opportunities for our members; to create camaraderie amongst our membership; and to project a positive image of our sport. Southern Maryland Dirt Riders also provides the flagging for the Budds Creek National. Look for the awards committee who will be roaming the pits on Saturday to interview the privateers.

If you think you should be on the list of privateers, please email the Karen or Mike Acton at karenmikeacton@aol.com by Thursday, June 17th. Previous winners of the privateer award were: Jake Marsack (2 time winner), Sean Borkenhagen (2 time winner), Ben LeMay, Gavin Gracyk, Ben Ritter, Corey Green, Kyle Mace and Tim Wiegand.