MX Sports Congratulates Eli Tomac on AMA Sportsman of the Year Award

Morgantown, W.Va. - MX Sports, producers of the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships at Loretta Lynn Ranch, congratulates Eli Tomac on being awarded the 2009 AMA Sportsman of the Year Award at the AMA Racing Banquet, held December 4, at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

The AMA Racing Sportsman of the Year is awarded to an individual who has elevated the sport of motorcycle racing through his or her unselfish demonstration of outstanding sportsmanship. Hundreds of racing enthusiasts, including those that do not race, may be eligible for the award.
Tomac, from Cortez, Colo., took the championship in both the 250 B and Schoolboy 2 (14-16) classes at the AMA Amateur Motocross Championships at Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, TN.

Besides being a Loretta Lynn Champion, Tomac also won the FIM World Junior Championship in Taupo, New Zealand. He expects to make his professional racing debut at the opening round of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championships on May 22, 2010 at Hangtown Motocross Classic in Rancho Cordova, Calif.
The AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynn Ranch will celebrate its 28th year of racing on August 2-7, 2010 in Hurricane Mills, TN.

About MX Sports and the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships

MX Sports, Inc. is a Morgantown, West Virginia-based motocross production company that manages the AMA National Motocross Championships - the world's largest amateur motocross race. Hosted annually since 1982 at the home of country music star Loretta Lynn in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee, the event is the premier amateur motocross race in the world. Approximately 25,000 racers attempt to qualify in 35 classes at the 52 Area Qualifying races held annually from February through May and 12 Regional Championship races conducted in June at select motocross facilities across the country. Only 1,400 will make it to the final. The National event, christened "The World's Greatest Motocross Vacation," is held annually in the first week of August. As proof of the significance of winning an AMA Amateur National Championship title, most of today's top motocross and Supercross stars-including Ricky Carmichael, James Stewart, and Ryan Villopoto-won championships at Loretta Lynn's. For more information, please visit