Blazusiak Clinches 2009 GEICO Powersports EnduroCross Championship

  • Blazusiak hopes to see his name on that check soon.
DENVER, CO –  Taddy Blazusiak has proven to be tough to beat in the 2009 Geico EnduroCross series presented by E3 Spark Plugs and tonight, he survived an early battle with Geoff Aaron and race long pressure from Lucas Oil backed Colton Haaker to take the win.  Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Damon Huffman rounded out the podium.    

Blazusiak, arguably the world’s top “Extreme Enduro” rider in the world right now started the day by setting the fastest lap time during the afternoon qualifying session, which puts the riders on the track by themselves for a single hot lap to determine heat race starting positions.  Zip Ty – Husquvarna’s Cory Graffunder had set a seemingly unbeatable 1:08.163 lap time after Blazusiak predicted a 1:10 would be the fasted time possible.  Then Blazusiak pulled off a 1:07.117 to take the top spot.  Geoff Aaron proved that he has indeed been improving his speed by setting the third fastest time with a 1:08.650. 

Blazusiak collected the $500 Girardi Wealth Management holeshot award and it seemed that he may have an easy race until Aaron went past at the end of the first lap.  Blazusiak then made an aggressive pass by jumping over the finish line tire section and colliding with Aaron in the next corner.  Aaron unfortunately hit the ground and with that, the only rider with a chance to beat Blazusiak in the championship was a long way back.  Lucas Oil / Kawasaki backed Colton Haaker and Husqvarna’s Graffunder battled over second for a few laps before Haaker took control of the spot.  He managed to keep Blazusiak honest until closing stages of the main event.  Huffman worked his way up from a sixth place start to take the final spot on the podium and Aaron charged b to the finish and took forth by passing FMF / Am-Pro Yamaha’s Kyle Redmond through the final obstacle just in front of the finish line. 

Blazusiak clinched the 2009 Geico Powersports EnduroCross championship by opening up an insurmountable 36 point lead over Geoff Aaron.  Huffman holds a scant one point lead for third over Colton Haaker.  Haaker took over the points lead in the chase for the E3 Spark Plugs’ EnduroCross Pro Junior Championship, the series within a series that allows riders aged 16-21 to compete for an AMA number one plate.  Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder came into the Denver round with a narrow three point lead but finished ninth tonight and now finds himself ten points behind. 

Blazusiak now has a chance to win the $50,000 Geico Powersports Triple Crown bonus if he can close the season with a win at the Vegas final on November 21st.  Ironically, it was Blazusiak that passed the Isle of Man’s David Knight at the 2007 Las Vegas final to keep him from winning the $50,000.  You can bet that there will be several riders on hand to do the same to Blazusiak and Knight himself has even said that he may be there to do so.  

Denver Colorado, Geico Powersports AMA EnduroCross Expert Main Event Results

  1. Taddy Blazusiak      KTM
  2. Colton Haaker          Kawasaki
  3. Damon Huffman      Kawasaki
  4. Geoff Aaron              Christini / KTM
  5. Kyle Redmond         Yamaha
  6. Bobby Prochnau      KTM
  7. Jamie Lanza             Kawasaki
  8. Patrick Smage          KTM
  9. Cory Graffunder       Husqvarna
  10. Cody Webb               KTM
  11. Ryan Rodgers          Yamaha

Las Vegas’ Orleans Arena will host the final round of the 2009 GEICO EnduroCross series on Saturday, November 21st.  Tickets are available at
All six rounds of the 2009 Geico AMA EnduroCross will air on the Lucas Motosports Hour on the Versus Network starting in October.  For more information and air times, check
EnduroCross tracks incorporate various elements of off road racing into a supercross-style setting, including rocks, boulders, logs, sand, mud, a water-hole… and even a few special obstacles like giant tires thrown in!  Known as the “toughest racing on two wheels,” this indoor version of extreme off road racing will certainly keep you on your feet. The GEICO Powersports AMA EnduroCross series, presented by E3 Spark Plugs, will be captured by the Versus Network, to be aired on the popular grassroots racing program; The Lucas Motorsports Hour. With its excitement and unpredictability, the EnduroCross championship has always down to the wire and this year will be no different as the series starts and finishes at Vegas’ Orleans Arena! Don’t miss your chance to see GEICO Powersports AMA Endurocross “Live” - and be sure to log-on to for local airing dates/times for the Lucas Motorsports Hour.

For rules and race information visit or email
For TV airing dates/times visit

Source Interlink Media Motorsports:
Encompassing the highly successful Maxxis AMA MiniMotoSX,  the GEICO Powersports AMA EnduroCross Championship Series and the GEICO Powersports AMA EnduroCross Grand Championships, the Source Interlink Media Motorsports brands reach millions of motorcycle enthusiasts with live events, DVD packages, web sites, television and magazine coverage. Visit or