Kailub Russell Wins XC-2 Championship

Yadkinville, NC – Shock Doctor/KTM rider Kailub Russell took home a win and a championship at the 11th round of the GNCC Series.

Russell started in 2nd place behind his teammate Cory Buttrick who grabbed the holeshot. Buttrick took the early lead and ran with it while Russell made a few minor mistakes which temporarily set him back. “Although it rained the day before the track conditions were not that bad. There were a few deep mud sections but the rest of the track was quite rideable,” remarked Shock Doctor/KTM Team Manager Antti Kallonen.

Buttrick led the first two hours of the race at which point Russell got back up to speed and began to close in on his teammate. Russell soon passed Buttrick and went on to pull a lead and take his eighth win of the season and the championship title. Buttrick finished a strong race in 2nd position.

In the XC-1 class Shock Doctor/KTM rider Nate Kanney got a great start rounding the first turn in 3rd position. Unfortunately, he crashed in the third turn and remounted in the back of the pack. His teammate, Kurt Caselli, also found himself in the back of the pack after his bike did not start on the first kick. Kanney and Caselli both began to charge through the pack and pick off riders.

Caselli’s luck got worse when a crash part way into the first lap caused him to pull out of the race. Kanney continued to press forward passing by multiple riders each lap. By the final lap, Kanney had worked his way into 5th place and was closing in on Glenn Kearney. When Kearney got stuck in a mud hole, Kanney capitalized on the mistake and moved into 4th position which he held through the checkered flag.

Next Event: St. Clairsville, OH – October 3-4, 2009

Overall Results XC-1 Class:

  1. Paul Whibley
  2. Joshua Strang
  3. Charles Mullins
  4. Nate Kanney – KTM
  5. Glenn Kearney

Overall Points XC-1 Class:

  1. Paul Whibley – 274
  2. Joshua Strang – 242
  3. Charles Mullins – 236
  4. Jim Jarrett – 188
  5. Nate Kanney – 182

Overall Results XC-2 Class:

  1. Kailub Russell – KTM
  2. Cory Buttrick – KTM
  3. Scott Watkins
  4. Josh Weisenfels
  5. Jason Thomas

Overall Points XC-2 Class:

  1. Kailub Russell – 307
  2. Cory Buttrick – 243
  3. Jason Thomas – 228
  4. Scott Watkins – 214
  5. Jake Korn – 177