Renet Wins 2009 MX3 World Championship

RANDERS (DENMARK) – Pierre Alexandre Renet (Suzuki Bodo Schmidt) conquered the MX3 World Championship title 2009. French rider won both races in Denmark, second was Antti Pyrhonen and third Julien Vanni.

In the final French event Pierre Alexandre Renet will already compete as the new MX3 World Champion. The weather conditions in Randers were very changeable. It started to rain before each race, what made the difficult race track even more exacting. Renet became the big winner of the event and conquered the World Championship Title in Denmark unexpectedly.

Everybody was expecting big fight for the title between Renet and Alex Salvini (Husqvarna Tecno B), but Salvini was involved in crash in the second race and his dreams about the Title finished in the first corner. The first race started with the holeshot of Antti Pyrhonen (Finnsco Honda Racing). Julien Vanni (Honda Team MB) passed Pyrhonen and became the winner of the first race. Pierre Alexandre Renet and Alex Salvini were riding close. Salvini tried to pass him several times but finished behind Renet. The Championship was still not decided because the advantage of Renet was not too big.

Two hours later the start of the second race put Salvini far from the top and Renet to the position of the new Champion. Many riders were involved in the starting crash and for some the race has started from the beginning. Julien Vanni was leading, Hugo Basaula from Portugal was just behind him. Home rider Nicolai Hansen started very fast, he was third. The order has changed during the race. Renet took the lead in the moment when Vanni had problems with the bike, because a stone hit his brakes. Hansen was fast during the whole race and finished second. That is his best MX3 result ever. Third was Christophe Martin (Husqvarna Tecno B). Salvini was continuing after the crash, but with the big pain in the knee. He finished eighteenth.

Pierre Alexandre Renet won. His advantage in the MX3 World Championship Classification is already 53 points so there is no chance that Salvini could still pass him. Julien Vanni finished second, Antti Pyrhonen third. Nicolai Marcher Hansen missed the podium for only two points and finised fourth, Christophe Martin was fifth and Hugo Basaula sixth. Alex Salvini is second in the Championship Classification. Pyrhonen is third and has 27 points less than Salvini.

The final event will be September 13th in France, with the celebration of the new French MX3 World Champion 2009.


1st – PIERRE ALEXANDRE RENET (France): “It was a wonderful weekend. Yesterday I took the maiden pole position, today I won the event and took the MX3 World Championship Title. That’s fantastic. First start was not really fast, I was sixth, after I had a lot of mud on my goggles. Also the second start was not too good but I had a good line, then I saw that Vanni has some problems with the bike and I passed him. Final race will be in France. As I took the Title already today, I will just enjoy and ride without any pressure.”

2nd – JULIEN VANNI (France): “Yesterday I did not have the right feeling, the race track is sandy and I am not very used to it. Today was another day. I won the first race. In the second race a stone got stuck in the brake, I had big problems because of that. At the end everything went well, I finished second overall.”

3rd – ANTTI PYRHONEN (Finland): “This weekend went well for me again. I was quite fast yesterday. In the first race I took the holeshot, but it was difficult. The stone hit me in the head. In the second race I crashed at the start, I was working hard and finished fourth. I am satisfied because I took the podium. The race track was difficult. But I feel very strong and I hope I will finish the season with a good result.”


First Race Top Ten: 1. Julien Vanni (FRA, Honda), 35:13.700; 2. Antti Pyrhonen (FIN, Honda), +0:06.850; 3. Pierre Renet (FRA, Suzuki), +0:10.882; 4. Alex Salvini (ITA, Husqvarna), +0:13.706; 5. Nicolai Hansen (DEN, Suzuki), +0:23.335; 6. Hugo Basaula (POR, Suzuki), +0:47.876; 7. Christophe Martin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:00.601; 8. Kennet Hvam (DEN, Yamaha), +1:12.615; 9. Kasper Jensen (DEN, Honda), +1:15.233; 10. Jim Sorensen (DEN, KTM), +2:03.444

Second Race Top Ten: 1. Pierre Renet (FRA, Suzuki), 35:25.968; ; 2. Nicolai Hansen (DEN, Suzuki), +0:03.011; 3. Christophe Martin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:18.363; 4. Antti Pyrhonen (FIN, Honda), +0:26.553; 5. Julien Vanni (FRA, Honda), +0:33.473; 6. Hugo Basaula (POR, Suzuki), +0:39.483; 7. Kasper Jensen (DEN, Honda), +0:40.980; 8. Bo Vang Jensen (DEN, Suzuki), +1:07.093; 9. Matevz Irt (SLO, Honda), +1:12.558; 10. Daniel Wozniak (DEN, Yamaha), +1:33.741

Overall Top Ten: 1. Pierre Renet (FRA, Suzuki), 45 points; 2. Julien Vanni (FRA, Honda), 41 p.; 3. Antti Pyrhonen (FIN, Honda), 40 p.; 4. Nicolai Hansen (DEN, Suzuki), 38 p.; 5. Christophe Martin (FRA, Husqvarna), 34 p.; 6. Hugo Basaula (POR, Suzuki), 30 p.; 7. Kasper Jensen (DEN, Honda), 26 p.; 8. Kennet Hvam (DEN, Yamaha), 23 p.; 9. Alex Salvini (ITA, Husqvarna), 21 p.; 10. Daniel Wozniak (DEN, Yamaha), 20 p

Championship Classification Top Ten: 1. Pierre Renet (FRA, Suzuki), 540 points; 2. Alex Salvini (ITA, Husqvarna), 487 p.; 3. Antti Pyrhonen (FIN, Honda), 460 p.; 4. Julien Vanni (FRA, Honda), 439 p.; 5. Christophe Martin (FRA, Husqvarna), 404 p.; 6. Matevz Irt (SLO, Honda), 375 p.; 7. Alvaro Lozano (ESP, Yamaha), 308 p.; 8. Nicolai Hansen (DEN, Suzuki), 284 p.; 9. Hugo Basaula (POR, Suzuki), 275 p.; 10. Kasper Jensen (DEN, Honda), 251 p