Spy Photo & GEICO EnduroCross Lineup

ANAHEIM, Calif. – The world of off-road motorcycle racing will be brought to a boil this Saturday night, July 25th, as an all-star field descends upon the Orleans Arena to open the 2009 GEICO Powersports AMA EnduroCross championship series.

Never before in the history of the sport has such a star-studded field assembled for one night of EnduroCross racing. The list of riders reads like a who’s who of current and former national and international champions, including current EnduroCross champ Ricky Dietrich (Monster Energy/Kawasaki) and his teammate, Damon Huffman – the 2008 EnduroCross runner-up.

“This is like baseball’s all-star game for off-road motorcycle enthusiasts,” said Mike Karsting, VP of Events for Source Interlink Media. “And maybe on a grander scale in that we’ve got both American and international champions lining up for battle here at the Orleans in Vegas. It’s gonna be a wild one on Saturday.”

Joining Dietrich and Huffman will be current World Off Road Championship Series, aka “WORCS,” premier class points leader, Mike Brown (KTM), and eastern Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series, aka “GNCCs,” points leader, Paul Whibley (GEICO/Monster/Kawasaki). This provides a rare situation for fans of America’s leading off-road racing series’ to see how the top riders in their favorite series stack up against one another – along with top international stars such as Taddy Blazusiak (KTM) and Husqvarna’s Antoine Meo.                                                                

“Add to the WORCS and GNCC point leaders the defending AMA Hare & Hound champion, Destry Abbott (Monster/Kawasaki), and you’ve got the three major AMA off-road championships covered here at the Orleans EnduroCross opener,” added Karsting.

Rounding out the all-star list of riders at the Orleans this weekend for the GEICO EnduroCross opener are: Geoff Aaron, Rory Mead, Colton Haaker, Nick Brozovich, Bobby Prochnau, Jamie Lanza, Ty Davis, Phil Smage, Kyle Calderini, Kyle Redmond, Patrick Smage, Wallace Palmer, Jason Raines, Cory Grafunder and Scott Watkins.

Note! Special ticket and hotel rates available for the OPENING ROUND, July 25th, in Las Vegas are NOW available at the Orleans Arena, 888-234-2334; or online at www.OrleansArena.com

EnduroCross tracks incorporate various elements of off road racing into a supercross-style setting, including rocks, boulders, logs, sand, mud, a water-hole… and even a few special obstacles like giant tires thrown in!  Known as the “toughest racing on two wheels,” this indoor version of extreme off road racing will certainly keep you on your feet. The GEICO Powersports AMA EnduroCross series, presented by E3 Spark Plugs, will be captured by the Versus Network, to be aired on the popular grassroots racing program; The Lucas Motorsports Hour. With its excitement and unpredictability, the EnduroCross championship has always down to the wire and this year will be no different as the series starts and finishes at Vegas’ Orleans Arena! Don’t miss your chance to see GEICO Powersports AMA Endurocross “Live” - and be sure to log-on to www.Versus.com for local airing dates/times for the Lucas Motorsports Hour.