RedBud Race Report

July 5, 2009 1:49am | by:
The chants of “RedBud” only drowned out by the explosions of fireworks at round six of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, the RedBud National fittingly featured two American winners on Independence Day, stopping the points leaders in both classes (both non-Americans) from taking the wins.


  • Josh Grant scored his first-ever 450cc National win at RedBud with a 2-1 score.
  • Chad Reed won the first moto but lost the overall. Still, he stretched his points lead to 21.
  • Ivan Tedesco scored third overall at RedBud.
Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Chad Reed, the Australian points leader in the 450cc class, got the holeshot to start the first moto, but Honda Red Bull Racing’s Andrew Short passed him on the first lap. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ricky Dietrich ran third in front of Short’s teammate Ivan Tedesco, Canidae/Motosport Kawasaki’s Tommy Hahn, Reed’s teammate Byrne and JGR/Toyota Yamaha’s Josh Grant.

It took until lap 11 of 15 before Reed found his way back by Short for the lead, and by then Grant was on both of them, passing Short with two to go and then setting out after Reed.

On the last lap, Grant caught Reed, but couldn’t find a way around, and Reed took the moto victory over Grant, Short, Tedesco, Dietrich, Cody Cooper, Byrne, Tyler Bowers, Jimmy Albertson and Nick Wey.

Moto two saw Tedesco get off to a great start over Short, Reed, Grant, Byrne and the rest of the field. Grant passed Reed on the first lap and immediately set off after the leading Honda duo.

Grant found his way by both of them by lap six and began to check out while Reed began to pressure Short for third. On lap nine of 15, Reed finally passed Short, but came up literally just inches short of second at the finish line.

In terms of the overall victory, though, Reed’s shortcoming didn’t matter as a 1-3 and a 1-2 both lose to Grant’s 2-1.

Grant took his first-ever 450cc outdoor victory, while Reed stretched his points lead to 21.

450 Results:
1. Josh Grant (2-1)
2. Chad Reed (1-3)
3. Ivan Tedesco (4-2)
4. Andrew Short (3-4)
5. Cody Cooper (6-5)
6. Ricky Dietrich (5-6)
7. Michael Byrne (7-7)
8. Tyler Bowers (8-9)
9. Nick Wey (10-8)
10. Justin Brayton (11-11)

450 National Points Standings (After 6 of 12 rounds):
1. Chad Reed (240/1 win)
2. Andrew Short (219)
3. Ivan Tedesco (200/1 win)
4. Josh Grant (198/1 win)
5. Michael Byrne (145)
6. Mike Alessi (142/2 wins)
7. Cody Cooper (135)
8. Tommy Hahn (123)
9. Ricky Dietrich (119)
10. Nick Wey (101)


  • Jake Weimer (19) got the opening-moto holeshot while Blake Wharton (61) and many others get caught up in two separate pileups in the first turn.
  • Weimer went on to win the overall via a remarkable 2-4 score. He's the first rider this season to win two races in a row in the 250 class.
  • Christophe Pourcel recovered from the first-turn fall in moto one to finish eighth, then won moto two. He was second overall.
  • Tommy Searle was third overall for the third race in a row. The second through fifth spots overall were all tied with 38 points on the day.
In the 250cc class, coming off of his first-ever outdoor victory in Colorado only a week ago, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer took the holeshot in the first moto at RedBud, but lost the lead to Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey on the second lap. Weimer chased Dungey for the duration of the race, but couldn’t get close enough to strike.

Dungey took the win over Weimer, GEICO Powersports Honda teammates Justin Barcia and Brett Metcalfe, and Muscle Milk KTM’s Tommy Searle.

Searle’s teammate Martin Davalos got the holeshot in moto two and actually led the first five laps of the event over Weimer’s teammate Christophe Pourcel, who went down in the first turn in the first moto and finished eighth that time out.

Pourcel took over the lead on lap six and Searle followed him through for second, followed soon thereafter by Metcalfe and Weimer. That’s how the moto finished out, too.

Pourcel took the win over Searle, Metcalfe, Weimer and Davalos. Weimer took the overall with a 2-4 score over Pourcel’s 8-1 and Searle’s 5-2. Actually, as far as the points were concerned, second through fifth were all tied on points for the day with 38. Fourth went to Metcalfe and fifth to Dungey.

250 Standings:
1. Jake Weimer (2-4)
2. Christophe Pourcel (8-1)
3. Tommy Searle (5-2)
4. Brett Metcalfe (4-3)
5. Ryan Dungey (1-8)
6. Justin Barcia (3-7)
7. Kyle Cunningham (7-11)
8. Matt Lemoine (10-12)
9. Wil Hahn (9-14)
10. Martin Davalos (20-5)

250 Points Standings (After 6 of 12 rounds):
1. Christophe Pourcel (255/2 wins)
2. Ryan Dungey (246/2 wins)
3. Tommy Searle (191)
4. Brett Metcalfe (179)
5. Tyla Rattray (175)
6. Blake Wharton (156)
7. Jake Weimer (153/2 wins)
8. Justin Barcia (151)
9. Broc Tickle (141)
10. Trey Canard (139)

  • Ricky Carmichael absolutely dominated the FMF 2-Stroke Invitational.