Whibley Checks Out at John Penton GNCC

June 8, 2009 11:19am

Photo By: Matt Ware
Whibley took the $250 MotorcycleUSA.com holeshot award, but Kearney would take the lead soon after.

Millfield,OH -- GEICO/JG Racing Monster Kawasaki's Paul Whibley reclaimed his loss at the Mountain Ridge with a nearly wire-to-wire win at the John Penton GNCC, round eight of the 2009 Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series.

"It was pretty cool to win," Whibley said. "It's been a tough year. I've had a few problems this year with some bad luck so this was a good race. I feel pretty good about taking the win. It's good to be back on the top again."

In some of the best racing conditions the Millfield, Ohio track has seen in years, Whibley and his teammate Jimmy Jarrett stole the show as the two went 1-2 minutes ahead of previous points leader FMF/Makita Suzuki's Josh Strang.

"I got a decent start and worked my way up to third couple miles into it," Jarrett said. "Glenn was actually in front of us and he crashed and then Paul and I slowly pulled away from everybody. Maybe a few miles to the end I crashed with a lapper and crashed again and I settled for second. I didn't do anything to throw the race away and I'm happy with second."

Photo By: Matt Ware
Strang lost the points lead but is only a few points behind in second.

Whibley took the $250 MotorcycleUSA.com holeshot award and only got faster as the race went on, and churned out his fastest time on the final lap. Jarrett kept within 5 seconds of Whibley, as the two competed in their very own race. Strang started the race in third place but fell to sixth place in the second lap. From there, Strang, his teammate Charlie Mullins and Am-Pro FMF Yamaha's Barry Hawk battled between each other to take third place.

" The track conditions were good," Strang said. "I was looking forward to it. I had a bad start and by the end of the first lap I was 16 seconds down or something. By the second lap dropped 40 seconds. I thought I was riding pretty good. I tried to push hard. I'm not very happy but I'll take the points. I'm looking forward to getting the points back at the next race."

Shock Doctor KTM's Nathan Kanney started the race in fourth place until a few bad wrecks put him out of the race by the fourth lap.

Photo By: Matt Ware
Jarrett has put a strong charge to the podium the past few races.

Whibley was able to increase his lead over Jarrett to finish about 45 seconds ahead. Strang came in third, a few minutes behind the leaders, with Mullins and Hawk close behind in fourth and fifth places, respectively. Shock Doctor KTM's Kurt Casselli finished 11 minutes behind in sixth. Kenneth Gilbert, Nathan Skaggs and Ryan Gainey and Nate Kanney rounded out the top 10.

In XC2, Shock Doctor KTM teammates Kailub Russell and Corey Buttrick fired off the line so fast, they had to split the $100 Rekluse Holeshot Award.

Buttrick and Monster Energy/Andrews Yamaha's Jason Thomas passed Russell to take the first and second place positions. Russell was back in fourth, but by the second lap, he began moving forward to second. Buttrick settled just ahead into first place the first three laps while Thomas moved back to third. Russell's momentum began paying off in the fourth lap when he took control of first place while Buttrick moved back into second. Thomas held onto third place with GEICO/JG Racing Monster Kawasaki's Scotty Watkins right behind. Jake Korn came in fifth, followed by Ryan Echols in sixth. David Snyder and Eric Bailey came in eighth and ninth, respectively with Robert Santheson and Brian Lawson rounding out the top 10.

Photo By: Matt Ware
Jarrett's win puts him in between the "Big Three."

Mike Hampton of the Super Senior B 45+ class took home the Coppersmith Amateur Holeshot Award.

The 2009 Can- Am Grand National Cross Country series heads to Snowshoe, WV for its last race before the summer break for the MotorcycleUSA.com Snowshoe GNCC on June 27-28.


1.Paul Whibley (KAW)
2. Jim Jarrett (KAW)
3. Josh Strang (SUZ)
4. Charlie Mullins (SUZ)
5.Barry Hawk (YAM)
6. Kurt Casselli (KTM)
7.Kenneth Gilbert (KAW)
8. Nathan Skaggs
9. Ryan Gainey
10.Nathan Kanney (KTM)

XC1 Point Rankings

1.Paul Whibley (189/3 wins), 2. Josh Strang (186/4 wins), 3. Charles Mullins (179/1 win) 4. Jim Jarrett (144) 5. Barry Hawk (119), 6. Nathan Kanney (118) 7. Kurt Casselli (110) 8.Glenn Kearney (83) 9. Jesse Robinson (78), 10. Rainey Gainey (75)


1.Kailub Russell (KTM)
2. Cory Buttrick (KTM)
3. Jason Thomas (YAM)
4. Scott Watkins (KAW)
5. Jake Korn
6. Ryan Echols
7. David Snyder
8. Eric Bailey
9. Robert Santheson
10. Brian Lawson

XC2 Points Standings - 1. Kailub Russell (196/5 wins) 2. Cory Buttrick (179/1 wins) 3. Jason Thomas (161) 4. Scott Watkins (157/1 wins) 5.Jake Korn (121) 6.Brian Lawson (99) 7. Robert Santheson (98) 8.Andrew Matusek (94) 9.Josh Weisenfels (80) 10. Eric Bailey (74)

About GNCC Racing
The Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series is America's premier off-road racing series. Founded in 1973, the 13-round championship is produced exclusively by Racer Productions. Cross country racing is one of the most physically demanding sports in the world. The grueling three-hour GNCC races lead as many as 1,800 riders through tracks ranging in length from eight to 12 miles, competing for more than $3 million in prizes. With varied terrain, including hills, woods, mud, dirt, rocks and motocross sections, GNCC events are tests of both survival and speed. For more information, please visit www.gnccracing.com.

About Racer Productions
A West Virginia-based motorcycle and ATV event production company, Racer Productions has been a leader in the off-road racing industry for more than 30 years. It's repertoire of facilities and events includes the 13-round Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series, since 1973; professional and amateur national events at High Point Raceway in Mount Morris, Pennsylvania, since 1977; and professional and amateur ATV events at Loretta Lynn's Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee. For more information, please visit www.racerproductions.com.

Photo By: Matt Ware
Buttrick, Russell and Thomas are making regular appearances on the podium.