Stewart Wins Supercross Championship at Vegas Finale

LOS ANGELES, CA - Team San Manuel Yamaha's James Stewart took the second Supercross Championship of his career, Saturday night at the 17th and final stop of the 2009 Monster Energy AMA Supercross series, an FIM World Championship.

Before a sold-out Las Vegas crowd of 39,506, Stewart bested his Heat Race win streak taking the win in Heat Race 2, giving him a record 16 wins out of the 17 Heat races raced this season.  Stewart also continued providing footnotes to the history books, once again setting the fastest qualifying lap time of the day - 64.782.  Teammate Kyle Chisholm was unfortunately not able to race the Las Vegas season final due to sanctions the FIM had imposed following last weeks black flag for…“affecting another racer's progress”.

With crowds on their feet for the entire Main Event, Stewart thundered out of the gate with true championship race exuberance, just a tire length behind another rider for the holeshot and quickly moved into the lead.  On lap 2, Stewart was passed and moving him into second place where he remained for another 13 laps.  On lap 15, series second place championship points holder, Chad Reed made an aggressive pass on Stewart for second place.  Stewart quickly regrouped and settled into third place, for the remaining 5 laps of the race, a strategy that provided him with a third-place podium spot and a four-point lead to secure the 2009 Monster Energy AMA Supercross series title.

An absolutely ecstatic and visibly emotional Stewart had this to say, “This Championship feels great and means more to me than any other title I've gotten so far!  It was A LOT of work, being part of a new team - L&M Racing's San Manuel; a Yamaha bike - but sooo worth it! I just want to thank everyone who has been involved with the team and has helped to make this possible!” 

Team San Manuel Yamaha Highlights/Las Vegas - Round 17 -
James Stewart - Number 7, YZ 450F - Event Finish: THIRD
Kyle Chisholm - Number 38, YZ 450F - Event Finish:  Did Not Start
James Stewart - Heat Race 2 - Winner                  Kyle Chisholm - Heat Race 2 - 5th place

James Stewart - Season to Date:  11 wins; 3-2nd; 1-3rd; 1-7th; 1-19th
Kyle Chisholm - Season to Date:  1-8th; 1-9th; 3-13th; 2-14th; 2-16th; 1-17th; 1-19th; 1-dnf
James Stewart - Championship Points - 377     Kyle Chisholm - Championship Points - 79

About Team San Manuel
Team San Manuel is a unique partnership between the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians and L&M Racing, LLC, with the sole purpose of reaching out to Native and non-Native communities and sharing with them the value of perseverance and dedication.  Building a winning team comprised of top-notch talent and community service, Team San Manuel honors the Serrano belief of caring for our community. (

About the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians
The San Manuel Band of Serrano Mission Indians is a federally recognized American Indian tribe located near the city of Highland, California.  The Serrano Indians are the indigenous people of the San Bernardino highlands, passes, valleys and mountains who share a common language and culture. The San Manuel reservation was established in 1891 and recognized as a sovereign nation with the right of self-government.  Despite challenges and hardships, the San Manuel tribal community has continued to progressively maintain and enhance its unique form of government - focusing all efforts on providing a better quality of life for its citizens.  Through economic diversification, both on and off the reservation, the tribe has been forward thinking in its efforts to build infrastructure, maintain civil services and promote social, economic, educational and governmental units including the departments of fire, public safety, education and environment and continues to pursue opportunities for future generations.

About L & M Racing
L&M Racing was formed in 2006 by Owner/Team Manager Larry Brooks and partner Mike Kranyak.  The company's 2008 team, Team San Manuel Yamaha, consisted of 2004 Supercross Champion Chad Reed and former West Coast Lites Champion Nathan Ramsey producing the indie race effort the 2008 Supercross Championship!  The 2009 race season has 2007 Supercross Champion James Stewart and rookie Kyle Chisholm in place for L&M Racing. Led by Brooks, a key component in the Jeremy McGrath/Chaparral Racing team's three-year championship reign in Supercross, Brooks' race effort yielded the first and only independent team to ever win an AMA Supercross Series Championship.  L&M Racing is headquartered within an 8,000sf state-of-the-art race facility in Southern California and is one of the most successful independently owned and operated teams in professional Supercross racing today. 2009's Team San Manuel Yamaha presented by James Stewart Entertainment is sponsored by: DID Chains, Yamalube, Akrapobic, Vortex, Bridgestone, Cycra Braking, Light Speed, TAG Metals, Big Bear Mountain Water, Factory Effex, VP Racing Fuels, and GYTR. 

About James Stewart
In 2008, Stewart earned the AMA Motocross Championship with a perfect season winning 24 of 24 races, only the second rider in history to do so; won the US Open of Supercross; and was honored as the 2008 AMA SPEED Athlete of the Year.  Hailing from Haines City, Florida, Stewart is the 2007 AMA Supercross Champion.  Stewart's 2009 sponsors include L&M Racing; San Manuel Band of Mission Indians; Yamaha; James Stewart Entertainment; Oakley, Inc.; Red Bull; Answer Racing Gear; Bell Helmets and Nike.

About Kyle Chisholm
Turning pro in 2004, Chisholm has spent the last 2-year racing in the AMA Motocross Lites class, earning seven top 10 finishes.  In 2008, the Valrico, Florida-native moved up to the premiere race class aboard a Yamaha YZ 450F.  Chisholm's 2009 sponsors include L&M Racing; San Manuel Band of Mission Indians; Yamaha, James Stewart Entertainment; Fly Racing Gear and 661 boots and helmets.

Las Vegas Television Coverage
Saturday - May 2, 20009 - LIVE EVENT COVERAGE ON SPEEDtv
Recap of 2009 Season - Sunday - May 3, 2009 - 12:00 PM ET on CBS
Sunday - Round 18 Race action - May 3, 2000 - 1:00 PM ET on SPEEDtv

Next Race
January 2010 - Angel Stadium - Anaheim, CA