SX Notes Package: Salt Lake City

April 22, 2009 9:28am

AMA Supercross Class Stats in Salt Lake City

The first race was held April 28th, 2001, and Ricky Carmichael won on a Kawasaki

From 2001-2004, Salt Lake hosted an AMA Supercross race

This is the fifth time the gate will drop for an AMA Supercross race in Salt Lake City

Ivan Tedesco or James Stewart become the first rider in history to win in Salt Lake City in both classes

Ivan Tedesco
Ivan Tedesco won the Lites class main event at Rice-Eccles in 2004

Photo Credit: Brian Robinette

AMA Supercross Class Wins by Brand in Salt lake City
Honda (2)
Yamaha (2)

Ryan Villopoto
Ryan Villopoto became the first rider in AMA Supercross class racing to beat James Stewart in a race where he did not crash
Photo Credit: Brian Robinette

AMA Supercross Class Notables from Seattle
Ryan Villopoto earned his first AMA Supercross career win. He is the second first-time winner in the 2009 season and became the 52nd rider to win an AMA Supercross main event.

Villopoto’s win marked Kawasaki’s first win since the second race of the 2008 season when Stewart won Phoenix.

Villopoto became the 10th different rider to win his first AMA Supercross class race on a Kawasaki

Andrew Short finished fifth, giving him his 10th top-five finish and his 14th top-10 finish. Short is third in points.

Mike Alessi
Mike Alessi continues to pick up solid starts
Photo Credit: Brian Robinette

Chad Reed finished off the podium for the first time this year with a seventh

Kawasaki, Yamaha, and Suzuki have now won an AMA Supercross race this season

Since 1974, Kawasaki has only had nine winless seasons

Villopoto is the first local rider to win in Seattle since Larry Ward.

450 Start
Chad Reed crashed in the first turn of the main event and started in 19th place in Seattle
Photo Credit: Brian Robinette

AMA Supercross Lites Class Stats in Salt Lake City
The first race was held April 28, 2001, and Ernesto Fonseca won on a Yamaha.

This will be the fifth time the gate will drop for an AMA Supercross Lites race in Salt Lake City

AMA Supercross Lites Class Wins by Brand in Salt Lake City
Kawasaki (3)
Yamaha (1)

AMA Supercross Lites Notables from Seattle
Ryan Dungey earned his fourth win of the season and is headed into the last race with a nine-point lead over Jake Weimer.

Can Suzuki win a West coast title for the first time since Damon Huffman did in 1995 (13 years ago)?

AMA Supercross Laps Led

James Stewart              186
Chad Reed                    48
Josh Grant                   17
Ryan Villopoto              16
Jason Lawrence            14
Kevin Windham             11
Mike Alessi                   9

AMA Supercross Lites Class Laps Led

Ryan Dungey                51
Christophe Pourcel        48
Jake Weimer                 42
Austin Stroupe              37
Blake Wharton               16
Martin Davalos              10
Wil A. Hahn                   9
Justin D. Brayton          7
Ryan Morais                  4
Daniel Reardon             2
Matthew Lemoine          1

Holeshot Award (AMA Supercross Class)

Mike Alessi (Toronto)
Mike Alessi (Jacksonville)
Mike Alessi (Seattle)

Holeshot Award (AMA Supercross Lites Class)

Brent Presnell (Seattle)

US Smokeless Tobacco Company Pro Privateer Challenge

1.  Heath Voss                  95 Points
2.  Matt Boni                     90 Points
3.  Nick Wey                     80 Points

Asterisk Medic Card

Mike Sleeter (Seattle)

Racer X Gas Card

Nathan Ramsey (Seattle)

AMA Supercross Class Results, Seattle

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash. Kawasaki
  2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha
  3. Davi Millsaps, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda
  4. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki
  5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
  6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha
  7. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Suzuki
  8. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Kawasaki
  9. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee,, Fla., Honda
  10. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

  1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 332
  2. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Suzuki, 329
  3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 241
  4. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 208
  5. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 204
  6. Mike Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Suzuki, 203
  7. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 199
  8. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 190
  9. Davi Millsaps, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 188
  10. Josh Hill, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 146

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Seattle

  1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
  2. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
  3. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda
  4. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
  5. Jake Moss, Temecula, Calif., Honda
  6. Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Honda
  7. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Kawasaki
  8. Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Honda
  9. Michael Hall, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
  10. Jeff Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Honda

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 160
  2. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 151
  3. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 146
  4. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 103
  5. Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Honda, 95
  6. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., KTM, 89
  7. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 74
  8. Dan Reardon, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 67
  9. Jeff Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Honda, 62
  10. P.J. Larsen, Stanley, N.C., Kawasaki, 61