Cairoli and Osborne Earn Istanbul Pole Positions

ISTANBUL (TURKEY) – The first appearance of the FIM Motocross World Championship in Turkey begun today with great weather conditions and two enthralling qualifying heats. Cairoli won the MX1 heat while Osborne took the MX2 as both sealed their first pole of the season.

Cairoli dominated the majority of the MX1 qualifying with Osborne exploiting a mistake of early leader Paulin.


Yamaha Red Bull De Carli’s Tony Cairoli put in a stunning performance at Hezarfen where he took his first ever pole in the category. The Italian, riding with a black band on the YZ450F’s handlebar due to the earthquake striking Abruzzo (a region in the centre of Italy), quickly got to grips with the new track as he was the fastest in Free Practice and in the Pre Qualifying as well.

Cairoli’s win arrived when he moved past Teka Suzuki WMX1’s De Dycker and arch rival David Philippaerts of Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross. Cairoli led from the start but at mid race distance the duo made their move. Two time MX2 World Champion Cairoli fought back and won with a three second advantage over Philippaerts. De Dycker dropped from first to third.

Ramon and Strijbos completed the top five as Sebastien pourcel was 14th.

Tom Church was stopped by a virus and did not come to this third round. Melotte was also missing due to a problem with his back.

MX1 Qualifying Race top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 24:50.259; ; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:03.327; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.162; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.791; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Honda), +0:08.454; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:12.677; 7. Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda), +0:28.812; 8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:32.056; 9. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:35.303; 10. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:37.420;


Zach Osborne of took his first pole of the season and second of his career today at Hezarfen. The young American, who was fastest both in the Free Practice and in the Pre Qualifying, was well settled into second but the crash of race leader Paulin handed him the first win of 2009. Bud Racing Kawasaki PSM’s Paulin, who leads the MX2 series, finished an eventual second.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Shaun Simpson took a solid third ahead of Guarneri and Rombaut, who took the holeshot and led for the first lap.

Teillet recovered from the tail of the group to 13 after a crash. French countrymen Boog, Musquin, Frossard, Aubin also crashed during the heat.

MX2 Qualifying Race top ten: 1. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 24:59.805; ; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:04.286; 3. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:20.384; 4. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +0:25.092; 5. Loic Rombaut (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:32.663; 6. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), +0:35.031; 7. Khounsith Vongsana (FRA, Honda), +0:37.998; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Yamaha), +0:40.160; 9. Matiss Karro (LAT, Suzuki), +0:40.948; 10. Stephen Sword (GBR, KTM), +0:43.078;


Circuit length: 1500 mt

Temperature: 20° C

Weather conditions: dry and windy

Sunday: 65cc Warm Up 8:30-8:40; 85cc Warm Up 8:50-9:00; MX2 Warm Up 9:15-9:35; MX1 Warm Up 9:45-10:05; 65cc Race 1 10:35; 85cc Race 1 11:05; MX2 Grand Prix Race 1 12:10; MX1 Grand Prix Race 1 13:10; 65cc Race 2 14:15; MX2 Grand Prix Race 2 15:03; MX1 Grand Prix Race 2 16:03; 85cc Race 2 at 17:00.




Grand Prix of Turkey


Mr. Daniele Rizzi | Youthstream Press Coordinator | Mobile: +39 333 868 09 43 | Email: is the prime source of LIVE and On-Demand coverage for action sports on the Internet. Watch the 2009 FIM MX1/MX2/MX3 and Women’s World Championships, the 2009 SuperMoto World Championship and the 2009 FIM Snowcross World Championship races exclusively, LIVE and free on

Youthstream is the company that manages the exclusive television, marketing and promotional world wide rights of the FIM Motocross World Championship, the FIM Motocross of Nations, the FIM Women's Motocross World Championship, the FIM Veteran's Motocross World Cup, the FIM Junior Motocross World Championship, the FIM SuperMoto World Championship, the FIM SuperMoto of Nations, the FIM Snowcross World Championship, the UEM Motocross European Championship, the UEM Motocross of European Nations and the UEM SuperMoto European Championship.