Phoenix SX Final-Practice Update

January 10, 2009 8:05pm | by:
  • James Stewart is consistently in the 52s, and is the only rider in the 52s at all in Phoenix.
  • Chad Reed was second fastest in practice.
  • Cody Cooper looks like he's out for the night.
  • Ryan Villopoto.
  • Josh Hill stepped it up in the second practice.
  • Kevin Windham
  • Ryan Dungey was fastest in Lites practice.
  • Jake Weimer
  • Justin Brayton
  • Trey Canard
  • Jason Lawrence
  • Sean Hamblin
  • Travis Preston
  • Andrew Short
  • Josh Hansen
There wasn't a lot of big-time news in practice, outside of the heavy crash by JGR Yamaha's Cody Cooper who got out of shape in a rhythm section in his second practice session and hit the ground hard. It took him a long time to get up, and when he did, he was severely favoring his lower left leg and appears to be out for the night.

Broc Hepler's replacement at Team Yamaha, Sean Hamblin, looked as strong as can be expected since he's racing on a week's notice and hasn't raced supercross since 2006.

Again, in the second practice sessions, San Manuel Yamaha's James Stewart was the only rider to dip into the 52s with a 52.557 fastest time and a 52.630 second-fastest time. Next up was Rockstar/Makita Suzuki's Chad Reed with a 53.015, then Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto with a 53.292, then Yamaha's Josh Hill (54.086), GEICO Powersports Honda's Kevin Windham (54.257), Honda Red Bull Racing's Andrew Short (54.289), JGR Yamaha's Josh Grant (54.392), Monster Energy Kawasaki's Timmy Ferry (54.454), Honda Red Bull Racing's Davi Millsaps (54.519) and Honda Red Bull Racing's Ivan Tedesco (54.641).

In the Lites class, for the second practice in a row, Rockstar/Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey was fastest with a 54.258, followed by Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Jake Weimer (54.646), Muscle Milk/MDK KTM's Justin Brayton (54.847), GEICO Powersports Honda's Trey Canard (54.949), defending champ Jason Lawrence (54.972), GEICO Powersports Honda's Dan Reardon (55.400), Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Ryan Morais (55.570), TLD Honda's Chris Blose (55.582), Canidae/Motosport Kawasaki's Kyle Cunningham (55.834) and Muscle Milk/MDK KTM's Ryan Sipes (56.237).