JGRMX Toyota/Yamaha Team Ready for Supercross

2009 Brings Exciting Changes to the Joe Gibbs Racing Motocross Division

HUNTERSVILLE, N.C. – Joe Gibbs Racing, Motocross (JGRMX, operating as The JGRMX Toyota/Yamaha Team) is ready for the opening round of the AMA Supercross Series, an FIM World Championship on Jan. 3, 2009 in Anaheim, Calif. The team was founded in 2008 by Coy Gibbs, the son of Hall of Fame Head Coach Joe Gibbs, winner of three Super Bowls, as well as three Sprint Cup Championships as team owner. “I am really looking forward to this season,” said Coy Gibbs. “Last year we learned a lot of things including information from our suspension and engine dyno testing. Our goal is to steadily improve, and we expect to take a step toward the front in 09.”

In addition to adding state-of-the-art data acquisition and testing equipment during its 2008 debut season, the team will have several new sponsors going into the 2009 racing year. Joe Gibbs Racing NASCAR sponsors Snickers, Farm Bureau, and Sport Clips Haircuts will all share signage on the two wheeled side of the JGR race shop. No Fear Energy will be the official beverage, and the team will wear No Fear racing gear. Also new to the team in 2009 are FMF Racing, Shock Doctor, JE Pistons, CV4, and Xceldyne. Returning for 2009 are Toyota, Yamaha, Boost Mobile, Renthal, Hinson Clutch Components, Cycra, Etnies, N-Style, Renton Coil Springs, Oakley and Filtron.

“You have to have great partners to be successful in racing,” said Joe Gibbs. “We are extremely fortunate to have outstanding sponsors behind both our NASCAR and motocross teams and appreciate all the support they provide us.”

As previously announced, Josh Grant and Cody Cooper will ride in the premier Supercross Class for the team, led by veteran tuner and team manager Jeremy Albrecht. “Our preseason testing has gone really well and the international supercross rounds we raced allowed us to test under racing conditions. The 2009 Yamaha’s are awesome and we are ready to race,” said Albrecht.

The race will be televised live on SPEED at 10:00 p.m. ET, and repeated Jan. 4, starting with the Lites Class at 5:00 p.m. ET, followed by the Supercross Class at 6:00 p.m.