Stewart Named AMA Athlete of the Year

James Stewart has been named the 2008 AMA SPEED Athlete of the Year for the first time based on his 24-0 run through the 2008 AMA Toyota Motocross Championship and wins at the Motocross of Nations and the US Open of Supercross.

James beat out AMA Superbike Champion Ben Spies, AMA Formula Extreme Champion Jake Zemke, AMA Flat Track Champion Kenny Coolbeth, and AMA/ATVA Pro Champion Dustin Wimmer.