USA’s Winning Streak Reaches 19th Chamberlain Trophy

DONINGTON PARK (GREAT BRITAIN) – A very exciting 62nd edition of the Red Bull Motocross of Nations was won by Team USA for the 19th time in their history as James Stewart (MX1), Ryan Villopoto (MX2) and Tim Ferry (Open) rode strong throughout the three heats. Villopoto and Ferry also took the MX2 and Open Individual Overall wins with Stewart missing the MX1 win because of a final heat crash.

The French Team took second on the podium with Sebastien Pourcel snatching also the MX1 Individual Overall win from Stewart courtesy of his final heat triumph. Nicolas Aubin rode solid in the Open class with Anthony Boissiere damaging his front tyre in heat two.

Team Belgium rounded off the podium with MX1 rider Ken de Dycker, MX2 rider Jeremy van Horebeek and Open class rider Steve Ramon.

Great Britain dropped down from a virtual third to fourth after Billy Mackenzie made a mistake in heat three as Italy rounded off the top five.

60000 spectators turned out to watch the event at Donington Park.

HEAT 1 - MX1+MX2

Philippaerts took the holeshot to lead for the first two laps. Stewart came back to the Italian’s tail until he moved past and cruised to the eventual victory. After a crash in the opening lap Pourcel recovered to second but once he came closer to Stewart the American stepped up the pace leaving Pourcel behind in second. Philippaerts and Barragan battled it out for third with the MX1 World Champion taking the honours as Spain’s Barragan ended fourth. Switzerland’s Bill was a solid fifth as Villopoto took tenth after an early crash saw him restart from the back of the pack. Great Britain was a sixth and a ninth with Mackenzie and Searle.

Top five:  1. James Stewart (USA, Kawasaki), 35:25.692; ; 2. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:21.030; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:33.076; 4. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +0:35.481; 5. Julien Bill (SUI, Honda), +0:44.913

Nations classification top five: USA, France, Great Britain, Italy, Spain


A rainy second heat saw Cooper take the holeshot for team New Zealand but USA’s Villopoto got off to a great start as well to move past Cooper by the end of lap one. The American pulled away to win his only moto of the day as Cooper faced Boissiere’s attacks until the Frenchman passed. Later on the Frenchman broke his front tyre and went through the pit-lane for a quick check. He rejoined the race in 18th place. Cooper found himself back in second when Boissiere went out but Ramon charged to snatch the runner up spot. The New Zealander was also passed by Great Britain’s Searle becoming the only home rider to take a top three finish in this Red Bull Motocross of Nations. Cooper was an eventual fourth ahead of Italy’s Salvini and Puerto Rico’s Osborne recovering to sixth after a crash at the start.

Top five:  1. Ryan Villopoto (USA, Kawasaki), 36:14.798; ; 2. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:24.632; 3. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), +0:25.490; 4. Cody Cooper (NZL, Suzuki), +0:27.281; 5. Alex Salvini (ITA, Suzuki), +0:39.243

Nations classification top five: USA, Italy, Great Britain, France, Belgium 


Pourcel led the pack into turn one with Stewart moving past him before the end of lap one. The Kawasaki duo ran away from the rest of the field following with a five second gap already after the first five minutes of racing. Pourcel moved past Stewart then the American took the lead again leaving Pourcel behind. With only a couple of minutes to go Stewart made a mistake and crashed; he was an eventual 23rd as Ferry brought the bike home in fifth saving team USA’s win. Philippaerts ended right ahead of Stewart in 22nd as he also crashed with team Italy losing their podium chance. Pourcel was the eventual winner ahead of Leok making up for the mechanical failure of heat one. Nagl was third for Germany followed by Belgian De Dycker. It was a dramatic finale for home team Great Britain with Mackenzie crashing out when he was fifth; the squad dropped down the rankings as Mackenzie ended 11th. 

Top five:  1. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 35:55.949; ; 2. Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki), +0:05.763; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:26.044; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), +0:37.085; 5. Tim Ferry (USA, Kawasaki), +0:40.251

Nations classification top five FINAL: USA, France, Belgium, Great Britain, Italy


Next year’s Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations is due to be held in Franciacorta, Italy, hosting the 63rd edition of the event.


The Red Bull MXoN was broadcast live on:

  • EUROSPORT 2 (Pan Europe) : Race 1 at 14:00, Race 2 at 15:30 and Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  • VRT (Belgium): Race 1 at 14:00, Race 2 at 15:30 and Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  • GALAXIE SPORT (Czech Republic): Race 1 at 14:00, Race 2 at 15:30 and Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  • ART (Pan Middle East): Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  • SPORT TV (Slovenia): Race 1 at 14:00, Race 2 at 15:30 and Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  • RED BULL TV (Austria): Race 1 at 14:00, Race 2 at 15:30 and Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  • MEDIAZONE (Worldwide): Race 1 at 14:00, Race 2 at 15:30 and Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  • TRANS 7 (Indonesia): Race 1 at 14:00, Race 2 at 15:30 and Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  • SPORT TV (Portugal): Race 1 at 14:00, Race 2 at 15:30 and Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  • ETV (Estonia): Race 3 at 17:00 CET
  The Red Bull MXoN will be broadcast delayed on:

  • EUROSPORT 2 (Pan Europe): Monday September 29; Race 2 at 11:30 and Race 3 at 15:00 CET
  • MOTORS TV (Pan Europe): Tuesday September 30; Race 1 at 21:00, Race 2 at 21:55, Race 3 at 22:50. Wednesday October 1; Race 1 at 11:00, Race 2 at 11:55, Race 3 at 12:50. Thursday October 2; Race 1 at 14:55, Race 2 at 15:50, Race 3 at 16:40 CET
  • SPORT ITALIA (Italy): Sunday September 28; Race 1 at 16:30, Race 2 at 17:30, Race 3 at 18:30 CET
  • EUROSPORT WORLD (Pan Asia): Sunday September 28; Race 1 at 17:00, Race 2 at 18:00, Race 3 at 19:00. Monday September 29; Race 1 at 08:00 and at 21:00, Race 3 at 08:45 and at 21:45. Tuesday September 30; Race 3 at 14:00. Wednesday October 1; Race 1 at 11:00 and Race 3 at 11:45. Thursday October 2; Race 3 at 04:15. Friday October 3; Race 3 at 06:15 GMT
  • AMERICA ONE SPORTS (USA): Second Tuesday after the Red Bull MXoN; Race 3 at 21:00 and at 22:00 USA Eastern Time
  • GAORA (Japan): Race 1, Race 2, Race 3 N/A CET
  • SPORT 1 (Lithuania) : Race 3 N/A CET

-Race 1 mixes MX1 and MX2 classes

-Race 2 mixes MX2 and Open classes

-Race 3 mixes MX1 and Open classes





Red Bull

ACU-Auto-Cycle Union

Donington Park

Visit Derby

Information, photos and results are online at, the official website of the FIM Motocross World Championships.

More information on the series are available online in the official FIM Motocross World Championship Guide, which can be watched by clicking here.

MediaZone Moto is the leading global online broadcaster of Motocross and SuperMoto events. Fans worldwide can watch the thrills from this and every race of the 2008 FIM Motocross & SuperMoto World Championships LIVE and On Demand exclusively at

Youthstream is the company that manages the exclusive television, marketing and promotional world wide rights of the FIM Motocross World Championship, the FIM Motocross of Nations, the FIM Women's Motocross World Championship, the FIM Veteran's Motocross World Cup, the FIM Junior Motocross World Championship, the FIM SuperMoto World Championship, the FIM SuperMoto of Nations, the FIM Snowcross World Championship, the UEM Motocross European Championship, the UEM Motocross of European Nations and the UEM SuperMoto European Championship.