Number Cruncher: The 2009 Top 100

September 24, 2008 4:32pm | by:

Welcome to the Shift Number Cruncher. It’s been less than a month since the final checkered flag flew at Steel City and the factories are already making new backgrounds for their new numbers.

There will be some new numbers on the track in 2009 with Ryan Dungey, Brett Metcalfe, Josh Hill and Josh Grant choosing new career numbers. The new permanent number system keeps most of the top 25 number the same but it’s always fun to see the new numbers paired with new names. We took a look at the top 100 then went back in time and found riders that coincided with the new 2009 digit. Like Ryan Dungey’s new #10. Fourteen years ago another factory Suzuki rider by the name of Brian Swink also wore it. Of course the last rider to race with it was Factory Honda's Ernesto Fonseca. If there's a racer fit to wear Ernie's number, it's Ryan. 

Chad Reed  AMA/FIM World Supercross Champion
Trey Canard  AMA Supercross Lites East Champion
Jason Lawrence AMA Supercross Lites West Champion
2* Ryan Villopoto Poulsbo, WA
3* Mike Brown  Gray, TN
4* Ricky Carmichael Havana, FL
7* James Stewart  Haines City, FL
8* Grant Langston Clermont, FL
9* Ivan Tedesco  Tallahassee, FL
10* Ryan Dungey  Belle Plaine, MN
11* Travis Preston  Hesperia, CA
12* David Vuillimen Murrieta, CA
13* Heath Voss  Mico, TX
14* Kevin Windham Centerville, MS
15* Timmy Ferry  Largo, FL
16* John Dowd  Ludlow, MA
17* Robbie Reynard Oklahoma, City, OK
18* Davi Millsaps  Tallahassee, FL

Danny Stephenson
Credit: Racer X Archive

The list we received shows Davi Millsaps of running #18 next year. Broc Sellards didn’t race this season, and handed his permanent #18 over to Millsaps. But looking at the big one-eight made me think back to when my boy Denny Stephenson ran it in 1995.

19 Jake Weimer  Rupert, ID
20 Nico Izzi  Saint Clair, MI

Wayne Boyer
Credit: Racer X Archives

Young Nico Izzi earned national number 20, which was good enough for Rookie of the Year. I was fumbling through the archives and found Wayne Boyer. Also a factory Suzuki rider, who is one letter away from a really, really cool last name.

21 Cody Cooper  Tallahassee, FL
22* Chad Reed  Tampa, FL
23* Kyle Lewis  Henderson, NV
24* Brett Metcalfe  Lake Elsinore, CA

Michael Craig
Credit: Racer X Archives

Brett Metcalfe actually went on asking for advice on what number to choose as his permanent digit. With a change from Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki to GEICO Powersports Honda, a new number was in the works. He chose #24 which has seen some good moments in moto history. Michael Ray Craig raced with it in 1993.

25* Nathan Ramsey Menifee, CA
26* Michael Byrne  Newnan, GA
27* Nicholas Wey  Dewitt, MI
28 Joshua Summey Huntersville, NC
29* Andrew Short  Smithville, TX


Tim Ferry
Credit: Racer X Archives

Andrew Short and Timmy Ferry went at it almost every weekend this summer, but in the end Short had Ferry’s number. Wait…it appears Ferry had Short’s number first, back in 1993!

30 Jeff Alessi  Victorville, CA
31 Ryan Sipes  Vine Grove, KY
32 Sean Hamblin  Murrieta, CA
33 Josh Grant  Riverside, CA
34 Matthew Goerke Lake Helen, FL
35 Paul Carpenter  Ithaca, NY
36 Kyle Cunningham Fort Worth, TX
37 Antonio Balbi  Riverside, CA
38 Kyle Chisholm Valrico, FL

Mike Jones
Credit: Racer X Archives

As I went on down the list I stopped at Kyle Chisholm’s new #38. Chisholm will be returning to Xtreme Team Green/Motorsport Outlet Kawasaki, where his defunct teammate wore it in 2008. Kyle is a good kid and a hard charger that gives it 100% every weekend. Also in the news this week was Mike Jones who was up in Montreal performing FMX. Jonesy was AMA #38 on a KX500 in the 1992 Outdoor Nationals.

39 Trey Canard  Elk City, OK

Bob Hannah
Credit: Racer X Archives

Is Trey the most electrifying rookie ever? Winning the first three supercrosses of his career was a feat that even Bob “Hurricane” Hannah failed to match. But he came close! Buckwheat was wearing #39 when shocked the world by dominating the 1976 125cc National MX Championship.

40 Daniel Reardon Menifee, CA
41 Matthew Lemoine Pilot Point, TX
42 Jake Moss  Temecula, CA

Danny Chandler
Credit: Racer X Archives

Australia’s Jake Moss put in some strong motos in 2008 and earned enough points to almost cut his #82 in half. Moss will run #42 in 2009. Upon seeing that, I remembered that one of the gnarliest riders of all-time wore the four-two with pride. Nobody did it like Danny “Magoo” Chandler. He was a bad dude.

43 Broc Tickle  Holly, MI

Kevin Windham
Credit: Racer X Archives

Broc Tickle will has been one of the strongest Yamaha tiddler pilots for the past couple outdoor seasons. The number was also Kevin Windham’s rookie number, and the number of laps Davey Coombs has spun around the sun as of today!

44 Andrew McFarlane Menifee, CA
45 Jason Thomas  Melrose, FL
46 Austin Stroupe Corona, CA
47 Jimmy Albertson Ozark, MO
48 Thomas Hahn  Alvord, TX
49 Justin Brayton  Murrieta, CA
50 Wil Hahn  Decatur, TX
51 Martin Davalos Cairo, GA
52 Robert Kiniry  La Fayette, NY
53 Jason Lawrence Carlsbad, CA
54 Matt Boni  Geneva, FL
55 Ryan Clark  Waddell, AZ
56 Eric Sorby  Lake Elsinore, CA
57 Jacob Marsack  Berlin, MI
58 Phillip Nicoletti Cochecton, NY
59 Troy Adams  Homosassa, FL
60* Broc Hepler  Kittanning, PA
61 Blake Wharton Pilot Point, TX
62 Sean Collier  Valencia, CA

Gaylon Mosier
Credit: Racer X Archives

Sean Collier came out of nowhere to throw down a top five in the first moto at Hangtown. He didn’t do much racing after that, but that one moto alone was enough to set him well into the top 100. He’ll run #62 in 2009 just like Gaylon Mosier did back in 1979 in the 500 Nationals.

63 Chris Blose  Phoenix, AZ
64 Jeff Gibson  Blacklick, OH
65 Shaun Skinner  Stuart, FL
66 Steve Boniface Corona, CA
67 Josh Hansen  Murrieta, CA
68 Michael Blose  Phoenix, AZ

Jeff Matiasevich
Credit: Racer X Archives

Arizona’s Michael Blose has quietly been scoring pro points for the past several seasons. Michael can ride supercross exceptionally well. He’ll run #68 for 2009 just like Jeff Matiasevich did during a 500 USGP at Glen Helen. Boy, you just know that burned Bradshaw’s ass seeing Chicken race with his favorite amateur number!

69 Tucker Hibbert Goodridge, MN
70 Michael Willard Thornville, OH
71 Justin Sipes  Vine Grove, KY
72 Bryan Johnson  Cairo, GA
73 Gavin Gracyk  Blissfield, OH
74 Branden Jesseman New Brighton, PA
75* Joshua Hill  Yoncalla, OR
76 Kevin Rookstool Klamath Falls, OR
77 Steven Clarke  Cairo, GA
78 Billy Laninovich Lake Elsinore, CA
79 Cole Siebler  Emmett, ID
80 Tyler Bright  Lexington, NC
81 Kyle Summers  Colorado Springs, CO
82 Jack Carpenter  Ithaca, NY
83 Dusty Klatt  Riverside, CA
84 Jarred Browne  Nuevo, CA
85 Sean Borkenhagen Huntington Beach, CA
86 Travis Sewell  Westville, IN
87 PJ Larsen  Stanley, NC
88 Bobby Bonds  Maricopa, CA
89 Marc De Reuver Lommel, Belgium

Marc De Reuver
Credit: Steve Cox

Marc De Reuver made the trip to the United States for one national this summer, where he finished one moto and still earned himself a two-digit number.

90 Kelly Smith  Ludington, MI
91 Chad Charbonneau Litchfield, NH
92 Ryan Morais  Murrieta, CA
93 Kevin Johnson  Albuquerque, NM
94 Jacob Morrison Wareham, MA
95 Ben Lamay  Anchorage, AK
96 Tyler Wharton  Pilot Point, TX
97 Juss Laansoo  Chatsworth, GA
98 Kyle Tobin  Climax, GA
99 Jase Lewis  Carrollton, GA