Toyota/Racer X Power Rankings

May 22, 2008 7:23am
The Toyota/Racer X Power Rankings are back for the 2008 AMA Toyota Motocross Championships, and before the gate even drops for Round 1, we had all of our voters lock in their pre-season rankings of the top 25 motocross racers in America. A lot of our voters are still skeptical about the return of James Stewart, which is probably why he's in second place although he has the most first-place votes. The top spot in our rankings belongs to Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto, who is gunning for his third consecutive Lites National Championship. Third place going into Glen Helen is Honda Red Bull Racing's Davi Millsaps, followed by Rockstar/Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey and Monster Energy Kawasaki's Tim Ferry. The other rider receiving first-place votes is Honda Red Bull Racing's Ben Townley, who will be making his Honda debut this weekend in the premier AMA Motocross class. BT101 comes in at 16th. Check out the rest of the top 25 below, and stay tuned next week to see how the rankings are shuffled after this first round or racing is complete.

Ryan Villopoto is the pre-season #1

1. 2 Villopoto (8)
599 Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki
2. 7 Stewart (16)
569 Monster Energy Kawasaki
3. 118 Millsaps 559 Red Bull Honda
4. 28 Dungey 522 Rockstar/Makita Suzuki
5. 15 Ferry 511 Monster Energy Kawasaki
6. 29 Short 503 Red Bull Honda
7. 40 Hill 477 Factory Yamaha
8. 48 Canard 456 Torco Racing Fuels Honda
9. 338 Lawrence 402 Boost Mobile/Yamaha of Troy Yamaha
10. 800 Alessi 384 Rockstar Makita Suzuki
11. 51 Stroupe 308 Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki
12. 9 Tedesco 286 Red Bull Honda
13. 20 Grant 278 Torco Racing Fuels Honda
14. 27 Wey 218 MDK KTM
15. 123 Metcalfe 214 Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki
16. 101 Townley (2)
211 Hond Red Bull Honda
17. 341 Izzi 184 Rockstar Makita Suzuki
18. 577 Davalos 173 MDK KTM
19. 24 Summey 164 Joe Gibbs Racing/Toyota/Yamaha Yamaha
20. 32 Hahn 157 Xtreme Team Green Kawasaki
21. 12 Vuillemin 153 Rockstar/Makita Suzuki
22. 122 Reardon 119 Torco Racing Fuels Honda
23. 30 Weimer 114 Torco Racing Fuels Honda
24. 273 Gracyk 104 Joe Gibbs Racing/Toyota/Yamaha Yamaha
25. 77 Jesseman 97 Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki

Total number of votes: 26

Carlos Aguirre, Linda Ardehali, Vince Arimitsu, John Ayers, David Bailey, Cameron Baird, Sean Beaucar, Jason Berry, John Bodnar, Chris Bond, Andy Bowyer, Danny Brault, Erv Braun, Paul Buckley, Jimmy Button, Dave Castillo, David Clabaugh, Davey Coombs, Steve Cox, Tim Crytser, Simon Cudby, Jeff Emig, Mike Farber, Chris Favro, Jason Fleming, Ernesto Fonseca, Chris Ganz, Tony Gardea, Steve Giberson, Michael Holigan, Ryan Holliday, Jason Hooper, Frank Hoppen, Steven Hudson, Chris Hultner, David Izer, Eric Johnson, Jeff Kardas, Kevin Kelly, Allison Kennedy, Jim Kimball, Scotty LaLonde, Stephan Legrand, Paul Lindsey, Mario Marini, Steve Matthes, Nick McCabe, Shan Moore, Rupert X Pellett, Sondra Peters, David Pingree, Dave Prater, Jason Reed, Michael Rigdon, Brian Robinette, Pat Schutte, Alan Selk, BJ Smith, Bryan Stealey, Denny Stephenson, Carl Stone, Michael Stusiak, Cliff Talley, Jean Turner, Billy Ursic, Scott Wallenberg, Mel Walz, Matt Ware, Jason Weigandt, Wes Williams, Billy Wood, Chris Worden, Brad Zimmerman