Seattle Supercross Results

April 26, 2008 10:37pm

It’s Windham Again at Monster Energy® Supercross; Lawrence Captures Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Championship
SEATTLE (April 26, 2008) – Torco Fuels Honda’s Kevin Windham, of Centerville, Miss., won his second consecutive Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship race in front of 48,328 fans at Qwest Field. Yamaha of Troy’s Jason Lawrence, of Carlsbad, Calif., won the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class championship. Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., won the main event and finished second overall in the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class.
Honda Red Bull Racing’s Andrew Short, of Smithville, Texas, won the $1,500 Progressive Holeshot Award to start the AMA Supercross class main event, but Windham quickly passed him and moved into the lead. Team San Manuel Yamaha’s Chad Reed, who came into tonight’s race  13 points ahead of Windham, crashed in turn one and started the race in last place.
On lap 2, while leading, Windham suffered a mechanical malfunction when a banner got tied up in his back wheel. He stopped his bike and removed the banner from the rear wheel, dropping back to sixth place. Windham charged back through the field and re-captured the lead on lap 17. Reed charged his way to second place with a last-lap pass on Short.
“In the first turn, I crashed into the back wheel of Davi Millsaps’ bike and fell down,” said Reed. “When I was coming through the pack, I saw a bunch of Honda bikes and knew I was outnumbered, but I made the pass.”
“I rode great tonight,” said Windham. “I wish I came away with more points, but that’s how it goes. I am excited to go to Las Vegas next week. It’s going to be a great race.”
In the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class race, Team Solitaire’s Bobby Kiniry, of Lafayette, N.Y., won the $1,000 Progressive Holeshot Award. Dungey followed closely in second while Lawrence, who came into tonight’s race with a six-point lead over Dungey, started in fourth place.
While Dungey pulled away from the field, Lawrence moved into second place and rode to the first AMA Supercross Lites championship of his career. Yamaha’s Broc Hepler, of Kittanning, Pa., finished in third place. The win for Dungey was his third of the season.
“Once I settled into second place, I was really nervous,” said Lawrence. “I just wanted to keep it on two wheels and ride a smart race. I was really comfortable when my Yamaha teammate Broc Hepler was behind me.”
“I was really happy with the way I rode tonight,” said Dungey. “I know where I made some mistakes this year, and I am going to fix them. I learned a lot this year.
Tonight’s AMA Supercross will air on SPEED Sunday, April 27 at 6:00 p.m., and the AMA Supercross Lites class race will air on SPEED Saturday May 3 at 3:00 p.m. EST.
AMA Supercross Class Results, Seattle

1. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda
2. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha
3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
4. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda
5. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki
6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda
7. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha
8. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM
9. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suziki
10. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Honda
AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 340
2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 330
3. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 262
4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 261
5. Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 210
6. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 206
7. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 173
8. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 158
9. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM, 144
10. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda, 136
AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Seattle
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
2. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha
3. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha
4. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki
5. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki
6. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
7. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
8. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda
9. Michael Willard, Thornville, Ohio, Honda
10. Justin Keeney, Riverside, Calif., Honda
Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
1. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 157
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 154
3. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 131
4. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 126
5. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 117
6. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 100
7. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 95
8. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha, 79
9. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 73
10. Robert Kiniry, LaFayette, N.Y., Kawasaki, 72
Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
1. Trey Canard, Elk City, Okla., Honda, 147
2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 137
3. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair., Mich., Suzuki, 99
4. Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Kawasaki, 94
5. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 91
6. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Yamaha, 86
7. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 84
8. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ken., KTM, 84
9. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., KTM, 73
10. Billy Payne, Simi Valley, Calif., Honda, 71
KTM Junior Supercross Challenge
1. Collin Blakita, Ypsilanti, Mich., KTM
2. Ethan Wolfe, Roseville, Calif., KTM
3. Levi Tenkley, Everson, Wash., KTM
4. Tyce Cappello, Red Bluff, Calif., KTM
5. Ryan Washburn, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
6. Caleb Parker, Grants Pass, Ore., KTM
7. Kylar Ulibarri, Vancouver, Wash., KTM
8. Ethan Duer, Silverdale, Wash., KTM
9. Tysen Travis, Olympia, Wash., KTM
10. Cody Taylor, Tenino, Wash., KTM
11. Kyle Cormican, Brush Prairie, Wash., KTM
12. Destry Hergent, Tukwila, Wash., KTM
The final Monster Energy® Supercross race takes place at Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium next Saturday, May 3.