Monster Energy® Supercross Races into Detroit’s Ford Field

April 8, 2008 2:14pm

Family Four Pack Available for This Weekend’s Race

AURORA, Ill. (April 8, 2008) – Detroit’s Ford Field plays host to the 14th stop of the 2008 Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship this Saturday. Team San Manuel’s Chad Reed, of Tampa, Fla., holds a 27-point lead in the AMA Supercross class while Torco Fans Honda’s Trey Canard, of Elk City, Okla., has a 17-point lead in AMA Supercross Lites class in his rookie season. Fans can purchase a family four-pack, which includes four $25 tickets, four fan fest passes, four hot dogs and four sodas, exclusively through

Media day will be held Thursday, April 10 from Noon-2:00, featuring Team MDK KTM’s Nick Wey, of Dewitt, Mich., Martin Davalos, of Cairo, Ga., and Ryan Sipes of Vine Grove, Ken., as well as Team Suzuki’s Nico Izzi, of Sainte Claire, Mich.

Reed picked up his eighth win of the season last Saturday night at Texas Stadium. Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., won the AMA Supercross Lites class main event and is second behind Canard in season points standings.

The win was Reed’s fourth at Texas Stadium and the 34th AMA Supercross class victory of his career.

“I feel like I’ve given a lot of wins away this year, so I just wanted to go out here and put in a good ride,” said Reed last weekend. “I tried to get to the front as quick as possible and let those guys fight it out. This was a track that you had to stay on your toes and watch to not make mistakes.”

In the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites class main event, Canard suffered a crash on the opening lap and played catch-up for most of the race. He quickly remounted and turned in a championship-saving ride en route to a remarkable fourth place finish.

In last year’s AMA Supercross class main event Kawasaki’s James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., led wire to wire en route to his fifth consecutive win of the season last year.

It was a special evening for Kawasaki’s Ben Townley at last year’s Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites class main event. While Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey opened the race by winning the holeshot and rode away to victory, Townley finished in second place and won his first AMA Supercross Lites championship.

Tickets are available at, all Ticketmaster outlets, participating Yamaha dealers, the Ford Field box office or by phone at 248-645-6666. Gold Circle seats are $35, Mid-Level seats are $35 for adults and $10 for kids; Super-Value seats are $25 for adults and $10 for kids; all seats are $2 more on the day of the race. Practice and qualifying begins at 12:30 and racing begins at 7:00 p.m.

AMA Supercross Class Results, Irving

  1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha

  2. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha

  3. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda

  4. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda

  5. Tim Ferry, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki

  6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda

  7. Charles Summey, Huntersville, N.C., Yamaha

  8. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda

  9. Troy Adams, Homosassa, Fla., Honda

  10. Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Kawasaki

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

  1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 287

  2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 260

  3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 205

  4. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 204

  5. Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 173

  6. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 167

  7. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 147

  8. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 123

  9. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda, 120

  10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM, 117


AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Irving

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki

  2. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda

  3. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., KTM

  4. Trey Canard, Elk City, Okla., Honda

  5. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Yamaha

  6. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha

  7. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair., Mich., Suzuki

  8. Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Kawasaki

  9. Matt Goerke, Lake Helen, Fla., KTM

  10. Billy Payne, Simi Valley, Calif., Honda

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

  1. Trey Canard, Elk City, Okla., Honda, 111

  2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 94

  3. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., KTM, 73

  4. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 69

  5. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair., Mich., Suzuki, 68

  6. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ken., KTM, 67

  7. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Yamaha, 61

  8. Ben Coisy, Manosque, France, Honda, 53

  9. Billy Payne, Simi Valley, Calif., Honda, 53

  10. Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Kawasaki, 52

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

  1. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 135

  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 129

  3. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 113

  4. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 112

  5. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 101

  6. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 95

  7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 85

  8. Robert Kiniry, LaFayette, N.Y., Kawasaki, 71

  9. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 69

  10. Billy Laninovich, Lake Elsinore, Calif., KTM 62

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge

  1. Dawson Evitts, Auburn, Pa., KTM

  2. Andrew Drennan, Brookshire, Texas, KTM

  3. Preston Taylor, Hastings, Nebr., KTM

  4. Alec Brem, Moody, Texas, KTM

  5. Kristian Edwards, Longs, S.C., KTM

  6. Mason Moore, Carlsbad, Calif., KTM

  7. Chase Horton, Katy, Texas, KTM

  8. Caleb Weaver, Corpus Christi, Texas, KTM

  9. Tyler White, Marietta, Ga., KTM

  10. Nicholas Thomas, Broken Bow, Okla., KTM

  11. Garrett Harsch, Belleville, Mich., KTM

  12. Owen Russo, San Pedro, Calif., KTM

  13. Chase Shope, Pahoa, H  , KTM

  14. Caleb Conner, Tahlequah, Okla., KTM

  15. Hunter Soileau, DeQuincy, La., KTM

Past Winners in Detroit


AMA Supercross
April 21, 2007:                           James Stewart

March 25, 2006:                         James Stewart

April 9, 2005:                             Chad Reed

April 3, 2004:                             Chad Reed

April 5, 2003:                             Chad Reed

April 13, 2003:                           Nathan Ramsey

April 07, 2003:                           Ricky Carmichael

February 19, 2000:                     Jeremy McGrath

Advertisement | Advertise with Us