Hill Become 50th Rider to win an AMA Supercross

AURORA, Ill. (March 19, 2008) – In earning his first AMA Supercross class win last weekend at the Monster Energy® Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race at Minneapolis’ Metrodome Yamaha’s Josh Hill, of Yoncalla, Ore., became the 50th racer in the sport’s rich history to accomplish this feat.

Hill began competing in the Western regional AMA Supercross Lites class in 2007, earning two podium finishes – Anaheim 2 and Seattle. This year Hill moved to the premier AMA Supercross class, scoring podium finishes at Anaheim 2 and Indianapolis before the major win at Minneapolis.

Throughout the decades, 50 riders have earned AMA Supercross class wins and the ‘90s lead the way with 17 riders reaching this accomplishment. Following the ‘90s is the ‘70s with 14, the ‘80s with 12 and ’00s with 7.

AMA Supercross Class Winners

  1. Pierre Karsmakers-3/10/74-Daytona-Yamaha

  2. Jim Pomeroy-3/15/74-Houston-Bultaco

  3. Jaroslav Falta-6/22/74-LA-CZ

  4. Jimmy Ellis-2/28/75-Dallas-Can Am

  5. Tony DiStefano-3/6/76-Daytona-Suzuki

  6. Jimmy Weinert-3/12/76-Houston-Kawasaki

  7. Marty Smith-3/27/76-Pontiac-Honda

  8. Bob Hannah-3/5/77-Atlanta-Yamaha

  9. Marty Tripes-3/4/78-Atlanta-Honda

  10. Mike Bell-6/24/78-LA-Yamaha

  11. Gaylon Mosier-11/11/78-Anaheim-Kawasaki

  12. Steve Wise-6/2/79-New Orleans-Honda

  13. Mark Barnett-7/14/79-LA-Suzuki

  14. Kent Howerton-11/17/79-Anaheim-Suzuki

  15. Chuck Sun-3/1/80-Atlanta-Honda

  16. Rex Staten-3/8/80-Daytona-Yamaha

  17. Broc Glover-3/15/80-Houston-Yamaha

  18. Darrell Shultz-2/14/81-Seattle-Suzuki

  19. Donnie Hansen-1/30/82-Anaheim-Honda

  20. David Bailey-1/29/83-Anaheim-Honda

  21. Ron Lechien-6/11/83-Orlando-Yamaha

  22. Johnny O'Mara-1/28/84-Anaheim-Honda

  23. Jeff Ward-2/11/84-Seattle-Kawasaki

  24. Rick Johnson-2/12/84-Seattle-Yamaha

  25. Rick Ryan-3/7/87-Daytona-Honda

  26. Jeff Stanton-2/25/89-Atlanta-Honda

  27. Damon Bradshaw-1/27/90-Yamaha

  28. Larry Ward-2/17/90-Seattle-Suzuki

  29. Jeff Matiasavich-3/17/90-Las Vegas-Kawasaki

  30. Jean Michel Bayle-4/7/90-Dallas-Honda

  31. Mike LaRocco-5/14/91-Las Vegas-Suzuki

  32. Doug Dubach-6/15/91-San Jose-Yamaha

  33. Jeremy McGrath-1/23/93-Anaheim-Honda

  34. Mike Kiedrowski-3/6/93-Daytona-Kawasaki

  35. Mike Craig-2/12/94-Tampa-Yamaha

  36. Doug Henry-4/29/95-Dallas-Honda

  37. Jeff Emig-6/10/95-Las Vegas-Yamaha

  38. Greg Albertyn-1/11/97-LA-Suzuki

  39. Damon Huffman-2/22/97-Atlanta-Kawasaki

  40. Ezra Lusk-3/29/97-Orlando-Yamaha

  41. Kevin Windham-4/19/97-Charlotte-Yamaha

  42. Sebastien Tortelli-1/10/98-LA-Kawasaki

  43. John Dowd-4/18/98-Charlotte-Yamaha

  44. David Vuillemin-1/22/00-San Diego-Yamaha

  45. Ricky Carmichael-3/10/00-Daytona-Kawasaki

  46. Nathan Ramsey-4/13/02-Pontiac-Honda

  47. Chad Reed-1/04/03-Anaheim-Yamaha

  48. James Stewart-4/02/05-Dallas-Kawasaki

  49. Davi Millsaps-2/23/08-Atlanta-Honda

  50. Josh Hill-3/15/08-Minneapolis-Yamaha

For more information on the Monster Energy® AMA Supercross an FIM World Championship please log on to www.SupercrossOnline.com. For all media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig dennyhartwig@livenation.com or 630-566-6305.

Live Nation is the future of the music business.  With the most live concerts, music venues and festivals in the world and the most comprehensive concert search engine on the web, Live Nation is revolutionizing the music industry: onstage and online.  Headquartered in Los Angeles, California, Live Nation is listed on the New York Stock Exchange, trading under the symbol "LYV."   Additional information about the company can be found at www.livenation.com under the “About Us” section.