MDK KTM Riders Earn Two Podium Spots at Atlanta

February 25, 2008 9:00am

Atlanta, GA - The MDK KTM riders said they were going to get on the podium at the opening round of the East Coast Lites Series and they proved they could do just that this weekend. 

Nick Wey

MDK KTM Factory rider Martin Davalos and MDK KTM Lites rider Ryan Sipes finished in the top three in their heat and repeated those results in the main.

Martin Davalos

Davalos and Sipes both lined the gate for Heat #1 of the Lites class. Both riders started out front and finished that way. Sipes picked up second and Davalos finished third. 

Ryan Sipes

MDK KTM Lites rider Matt Goerke lined the gate for heat #2. He got a great start and was holding third when he got hit by another rider right before a triple and suffered a hard crash. He was unable to compete the rest of the night due to sharp chest pain. He stated, "I am not feeling well tonight after my crash but I will be ready for round 2."

Sipes and Davalos

In the Lites main event, Davalos and Sipes repeated their heat race start by coming around the first turn in the top five. Sipes was running second and Davalos fifth. Davalos soon charged forward and was running in third behind Sipes. The two diced back and forth for a couple laps and eventually Davalos moved into second. Sipes settled into third. The race would end in that order with KTM picking up two podium finishes at the opening round of the East Lites Supercross Series.
Supercross Lites Results:
1. T. Canard
2. M. Davalos - KTM
3. R. Sipes - KTM

4. J. Moss
5. T. Bowers
6. B. Jesseman
7. J. Grant
8. N. Izzi
9. K. Chisholm
10. B. Coisy
Supercross Class-
In the Supercross class MDK KTM Factory rider Nick Wey competed in Heat #1 where he garnered a mid-pack start and worked his way up to 8th to transfer to the main.
As the gate dropped for the main event Wey got pushed to the back and came around the first turn in 18th. He struggled to move through the pack and by the end of the race had moved into 14th for the night. He now sits 8th in overall series points.

Supercross Results:
1. D. Millsaps
2. K. Windham
3. A. Short
4. T. Ferry
5. N. Ramsey
6. C. Reed
7. C. Summey
8. P. Carpenter
9. D. Vuillemin
10. J. Thomas
11. R. Clark
12. H. Voss
13. B. Johnson
14. N. Wey - KTM
15. J. Marsack