Monster Energy® Supercross Notes Package - Phoenix

Chase Field, Phoenix

AMA Supercross Class stats:

The first race held in Phoenix was March 16, 1991, with Jean-Michael Bayle winning on a Honda.
No other races were held in Phoenix until 1999.
Wins by brand in Phoenix: Honda - 3, Kawasaki - 3, Suzuki - 2, Yamaha – 2.
This year’s event marks the 11th time the gate will drop in Phoenix for an AMA Supercross race.
Ezra Lusk won his last AMA Supercross class race in Phoenix on a Kawasaki in 2003.
Ricky Carmichael has won Phoenix three times on three different brands.
James Stewart is the only rider to win Phoenix in both the Supercross and Supercross Lites classes.

AMA Supercross Class Recap - Round 1 Anaheim:

Chad Reed notched his 27th career AMA Supercross class win. He is now tied with Jeremy McGrath on Yamaha's supercross win list and ties Bob Hannah for fourth on the AMA Supercross all-time win list.
Reed has 81 consecutive starts and 73 podiums.
Reed became the first Yamaha rider to win at least one AMA Supercross class race in six consecutive seasons.
Jeremy McGrath won at least one supercross in nine consecutive years.
James Stewart has 33 podiums in 39 career AMA Supercross class starts.
The winner of the first round of the AMA Supercross class has gone on to win the title 14 times.

AMA Supercross Lites Stats:

·         The first AMA Supercross Lites race held in Phoenix was March 16, 1991, with Jeff Emig winning on a Yamaha.

·         Wins by brand in Phoenix: Kawasaki - 5, Yamaha - 2, Suzuki - 1, KTM - 1, Honda - 1.

·         This year’s event marks the 11th time the gate will drop in Phoenix for an AMA Supercross Lites race.

AMA Supercross Lites Recap - Round 1 Anaheim:

·         In 2004, Ivan Tedesco won the first and second rounds of the Western Region AMA Supercross Lites season.

·         Ryan Dungey’s opening round win last week in Anaheim was his fifth career main event win.

AMA Supercross Class Laps Led

Chad Reed                                 17

Grant Langston                            3


AMA Supercross Lites Class Laps Led

Ryan Dungey                               8

Daniel Reardon                            4

Jason Lawrence                           3       


Progressive Direct Holeshot Award (AMA Supercross Class)

Grant Langston (Anaheim 1)


Progressive Direct Holeshot Award (AMA Supercross Lites Class)

Matt Lemoine (Anaheim 1)

MMI Top Tech Award

Oscar Wirdeman

U.S. Smokeless Tobacco Pro Privateer Challenge

Eric Sorby

Asterisk Medic Card

Ryan Grantom (Anaheim 1)

Racer X Gas Card

Cole Siebler (Anaheim 1)

Race Recap:

ANAHEIM (January 5, 2008) – Former AMA Supercross class champion Chad Reed, of Tampa, Fla., won tonight’s Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship race at Angel Stadium. Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., won the opening round of the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites championship, marking the fifth Lites victory of his young career.


AMA Supercross Class Results, Anaheim 1

Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha
James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki
Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki
Grant Langston, Clermont, Fla., Yamaha
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki
Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM
David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

 Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 25
James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 22
Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 20
Grant Langston, Clermont, Fla., Yamaha, 18
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 16
Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 15
Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 14
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 13
Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM, 12
David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 11

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Results, Anaheim 1

 Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki
Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki
Gavin Gracyk, Blissfield, Ohio, Honda
Andrew McFarlane, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki
Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Suzuki
Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings

 Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 25
Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 22
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 20
Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 18
Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 16
Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 15
Gavin Gracyk, Blissfield, Ohio, Honda, 14
Andrew McFarlane, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki, 13
Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Suzuki, 12
Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 11


AMA Supercross Rider Finishes


Chad Reed

Anaheim 1:                    1         


James Stewart

Anaheim 1:                    2


Timmy M Ferry

Anaheim 1:                    3


Grant Langston

Anaheim 1:                    4


Kevin W Windham

Anaheim 1:                    5


Mike A Alessi

Anaheim 1:                    6


David D Millsaps

Anaheim 1:                    7


Andrew T Short

Anaheim 1:                    8


Nicholas A Wey

Anaheim 1:                    9


David Vuillemin

Anaheim 1:                    10


Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Rider Finishes


Ryan M Dungey

Anaheim 1:                    1


Jason D Lawrence

Anaheim 1:                    2


Justin D Brayton

Anaheim 1:                    3


Daniel James Reardon

Anaheim 1:                    4


Austin L Stroupe

Anaheim 1:                    5


Thomas K Hahn

Anaheim 1:                    6


Gavin L Gracyk

Anaheim 1:                    7


Andrew Mcfarlane

Anaheim 1:                    8


Chris Blose

Anaheim 1:                    9


Wil A Hahn

Anaheim 1:                    10



For more information on the Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, please log on to For all media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig or 630-566-6305.