Monster Energy Unveils Its All Star Lineup For the 2008 Monster Energy SX Series

Featuring: Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Stewart and Ferry, Villopoto-led Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki, Monster Energy-backed Yamaha racers Langston and Lawrence, along with privateer Hibbert!

CORONA, Calif., (Dec. 31, 2007) – Monster Energy is proud to announce its all star line up of riders for the 2008 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series, an FIM World Championship.

“Though the familiar face of Monster Energy’s Ricky Carmichael will no longer grace the supercross podium, our line up this year should be every bit as exciting given our returning stars of Monster Energy Supercross,” said Monster Energy spokesman Scott Sepkovic. “From the defending Supercross class series champion, Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s James Stewart, to the favorite to win the east Lites title, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, Monster Energy should once again have its fair share of titles covered.”

Making the overall 2007 supercross podium in 3rd place behind Stewart and Chad Reed was Monster Energy’s Tim Ferry. At 31, Ferry is the veteran of the premier Supercross class. But he is by no means slowing up as the aggressive Floridian plans on making another run at the overall podium.

Also running the iconic Monster Energy “M” claw logo with Stewart and Ferry in the hunt for the overall Supercross class title will be Grant Langston (Yamaha). Easily the hottest racer entering the season, Langston has the momentum of the combined Outdoor Nationals and U.S. Open of Supercross titles in his favor when the gate drops at Anaheim 1 this week.

In the Lites class Villopoto admitted on national television (CBS) that one of the guys that was going to challenge for his title was fellow Monster Energy racer Jason Lawrence. Last year in the western Lites region Lawrence was all over Villopoto, scoring six podium finishes heading into the Dave Coombs Sr. Las Vegas Lites Shoot Out. There he nearly podiumed again, finishing 4th in the stacked field.

Rounding out the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki team will be former Lites champ Branden Jesseman, super-fast Monster Energy Supercross Series rookie Austin Stroupe and veteran racer Brett Metcalfe.

“Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki will again be the team to beat in the Lites class,” said John Lee, Director of Sports Marketing for Monster Energy. “Pro Circuit’s Mitch Payton does a spectacular job putting together a team that proves year after year to be the division’s best program. And Monster Energy is again looking forward to our association with the Pro Circuit/Kawasaki team and the benefits that go along with the team’s consistent success.”

Finally, when he’s not capturing Winter X Games gold on his Arctic Cat snowmobile, look for Monster Energy’s Tucker Hibbert to challenge for the eastern Lites division championship. Hibbert’s been consistently improving the past couple seasons – his first racing supercross full time and is always a threat to  make the top eight.