America Wins Red Bull Motocross of Nations

BUDDS CREEK, 23 September 2007- An incredibly crowded Budds Creek Motocross Park, with a total of 75000 fans, hosted this eventful Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations. With hot and demanding weather conditions, team America dominated on home soil, ahead of France and Belgium, who were separated by just one point, while Italy and Great Britain rounded off the top five.

Ryan Villopoto won both heats at his second consecutive appearance in the event

With three victories out of three heats, the Americans set the pace today at Budds Creek, and won their 18th Chamberlain Trophy. A superb Ryan Villopoto dominated both his heats, winning against the MX1 and the Open class machines, even if he crashed once in the first heat. Crashes actually hampered both Ricky Carmichael  and Tim Ferry’s races; in moto one, Carmichael crashed at the second corner, but worked his way up from the bottom of the field to a solid third, and eventually won the final heat. Ferry crashed in heat two in front of the pit-lane straight, together with other riders, but made up for it by finishing second in heat three, after he battled it out with Steve Ramon.

Ricky Carmichael made his final appearance in the event

The French Team was very satisfied of this second place, as two of the original riders in the team –Christophe Pourcel and David Vuillemin- were replaced in short time notice, due to injury. A solid Sebastien Pourcel was fourth in heat one and ninth in the final heat, while MXoN fresher Nicolas Aubin ended sixth and tenth. Other debutant Pierre Alexandre Renet was fifth and fourteenth in the heats, giving his contribution to the team’s overall classification.

Belgium, which was managed by Joel Smets for the first time, rounded off the podium after an eventful weekend. Ken De Dycker, who crashed and hurt himself in yesterday’s qualifying race, held on for the team; he brought the bike home with a second and an eleventh place, and also tried to chase Villopoto in heat two. MX1 World Champion Steve Ramon was fourth and eighth, while Jeremy Van Horebeek was tenth in race two, but had technical problems in the opening heat, finishing thirty-fourth.

Tim Ferry did his job well, helping Team USA to succeed

Even after two terrible races by leader Antonio Cairoli, with the MX2 World Champion crashing and retiring in heat one, and crashing also in heat two, Italy still managed to finish fourth, as the Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations is all about team work. David Philippaerts clinched two consistent sixth places, while Davide Guarneri, at his second participation in the Nations, was fifteenth and sixteenth.

Great Britain was another team who struggled for their position; with James Noble having a partially injured shoulder and riding with unbearable pain, the squad finished fifth. Noble was thirty-second and thirty-eighth, and tried to put in as many laps as he could, while Tommy Searle was third in heat two and ninth in heat one, where he crashed twice. Billy Mackenzie was eight and eleventh, after being involved in a crash in heat three.

Spain, with Jonathan Barragan, Carlos Campano and Alvaro Lozano, ended sixth, ahead of Japan and Switzerland, with Germany and Canada rounding off the top ten.

With Ricky Carmichael winning the MX1 class, Ryan Villopoto winning the MX2 class and Tim Ferry winning the Open class, the three America Team members topped all the individual classifications.

The podium of the Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations

At the end of this exciting day, Giuseppe Luongo, President of Youthstream, said: “This is what we expected, actually this is what we have been working so hard for. We ran the event in perfect conditions: we had the quality of the product, Youthstream worked very well and hard, the American crowd was excellent; I actually want to thank the local crowd, they have been the fairest and greatest crowd  we have ever entertained. They really love Motocross, and I have to thank them. The Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations has been a success and I hope we will be back in the States soon. We really felt like at home this weekend.”

FIM/CMS President Dr. Wolfgang Srb stated: “The Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations was an outstanding event, of course one of the best Motocross of Nations we had. The track at Budds Creek was really well prepared and well organized; in this event all the riders race for a team purpose, and they ride with their hearth. I have to congratulate everybody who took part in this event, we are very satisfied about it.”

And finally FIM President Vito Ippolito concluded: “I was very happy to be here in the United States, where the Motocross of Nations has come back after a 20 year absence. We had a very big event going on, and I would like to thank the local organizer, the promoter Youthstream, and all the people who were here today. Motocross in the USA is a very popular sport, and we had very fast riders on the track today, at the best world-wide Motocross event.”

Vito Ippolito, Giuseppe Luongo and Dr. Wolfgang Srb with the Chamberlain Trophy

Top five heat one: 1. Ryan Villopoto (USA, Kawasaki), 36:01.436; ; 2. Chad Reed (AUS, Yamaha), +0:15.616; 3. Ricky Carmichael (USA, Suzuki), +0:20.036; 4. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:44.875; 5. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +0:49.296


Top five heat two: 1. Ryan Villopoto (USA, Kawasaki), 36:19.260; ; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +1:05.559; 3. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), +1:12.646; 4. Tim Ferry (USA, Kawasaki), +1:16.401; 5. Pierre A. Renet (FRA, Honda), +1:27.448


Top five heat three: 1. Ricky Carmichael (USA, Suzuki), 36:41.390; ; 2. Tim Ferry (USA, Kawasaki), +0:11.748; 3. Grant Langston (RSA, Yamaha), +0:22.950; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:27.416; 5. Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki), +0:50.504



Today at Budds Creek some former top Motocross riders and key people in the sport made their appearance on the podium to celebrate the Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations. Tony Distefano, Charles Sun, Donny Hansen, Danny Chandler, Ron Lechien, Georges Jobe, Bevo Forte and Jeff Emig all walked on the podium, reminding the fans of the good old days. Stefan Everts and Ricky Carmichael completed the gig by doing one lap of honour around the 1500 metre long track.


The track from a “high” point of view


The 2007 FIM Motocross series is finished, but will continue with the forthcoming FIM Off Road Awards, where the Champions will be awarded in Monte Carlo on December 1.

The Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations will be:


Broadcast delayed on:

EUROSPORT 2: Sunday September 23, Race 3 MX1+Open at 23:45 CET
VRT: Sunday September 23, summary of Race 1 MX1+MX2 and Race 2 MX2+Open at 23:00 CET
EUROSPORT WORLD: Sunday September 23, Race 3 MX1+Open at 23:45; Monday September 24, Race 1 MX1+MX2 at 12:00, Race 2 MX2+Open at 12:30, Race 3 MX1+Open at 13:00; Tuesday September 25,  Race 3 MX1+Open at 16:30 GMT
AMERICA ONE: Tuesday September 25, Race 1 MX1+MX2 at 21:00, Race 2 MX2+Open at 22:00, Race 3 MX1+Open at 23:00 USA East Coast Time
GAORA: Race 1 MX1+MX2, Race 2 MX2+Open, Race 3 MX1+Open, N/A (check