Bench Racing Ammo: 1-2-3-4

August 30, 2007 1:43pm
On August 12, 2007, Mitch Payton’s Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki team made AMA motocross history when they swept the podium at the Spring Creek National in Millville, MN, with Ryan Villopoto, Ben Townley and Brett Metcalfe finishing 1-2-3. You’d think they’d be happy with that, but in the very next race there were able to one-up that performance by having their team riders finish first through fourth at Steel City—rookie Austin Stroupe adding to the mix in his very first pro national.

Sebastian Tortelli led the Red Riders that day

There has been a lot of bench racing going on about what an amazing statistic that it, but incredibly enough; it has been done before, but not in the Lites class, and not by riders on the same team, but rather all on the same brand.

Back at the opening round of the AMA Motocross series in 1999, Honda had an amazing opening to the series as the top five finishers in the 250cc class were all aboard red machines. France’s Sebastien Tortelli took the win (in his first-ever national) aboard his factory Honda with a 1-1, and Mike LaRocco, aboard a Factory Connection Honda, finished second with an unlikely 9-2. Another French factory Honda rider finished third overall, that being Mickael Pichon with a 3-7. Honda factory riders Ezra Lusk and Ryan Hughes finished fourth and fifth to give Honda the complete sweep.

After such a great start to the 1999 series, Team Honda was unfortunately unable to get the championship—that belonged to South African Greg Albertyn on his factory Suzuki. But they did put two riders in the top three overall: Kevin Windham and Mike LaRocco. And speaking of that particular 250cc series, here’s some flash trivia for you: Name all the riders who took an overall win in the 1999 250cc national motocross series. Email your answers here. The first five correct entries will win a Racer X Digital Subscription. Good luck!

Mike LaRocco


Ezra Lusk

Mickael Pichon

Ryan Hughes