2007 Surfercross Wrap Up

Irvine, CA. (August 27, 2007) – The 9th Annual Oakley Surfercross, presented by Boost Mobile finished up after two days of fierce but friendly competition. The Oakley Surfercross event was originally created by Jeremy Albrecht & Mike Parsons and pair’s top motocross racers with top surfers for a day of fun on the track and in the surf.

Surfercross co-creator Jeremy Albrecht said “every year the event gets a little bit better, I definitely want to keep doing it because all of the industry people get to come out and surf & ride for a day which none of us usually get to do, that’s cool!” This year a who’s who of professional athletes from both disciplines participated: Jeff Emig, Josh Hansen, Michael Sleeter, Eric Sorby, Trigger Gumm (Guinness Book World Recorded Holder), Kyle Loza (X Games Best Trick Gold Medalist), Brock Little, Josh Sleigh, Troy Eckert and Chava Greenlee.

Despite the 100+ degrees temperature outside, the Motocross Day lived up to expectations. The track at Starwest was prepped to perfection. In Pro Moto action, Phil Lawrence & Kai Pattison dominated both moto's en-route to securing 1st Overall leading into the Surf Day. A close second was Yamaha mounted Josh Hansen and his partner Brandon Rambo. Third place belonged to Michael Sleeter & Ronny Nelson. 

Contestants were welcomed by small 1-2 foot waves on the Surf Day which was held at San Onofre State Beach -Trail 6. Max Mcilwee & Oakley Lehman emerged with the best surf scores to capture 1st place. They were followed by Troy Eckert and Ray Sommo while Shea Perkins and Joel Albrecht rounded out the podium.

In the end when the two-day results were tallied, Troy Eckert and Ray Sommo utilized consistency in both disciplines to capture the overall Surfercross title. The battle for second was close as Max Mcilwee & Oakley Lehman edged out Josh Hansen & Brandon Rambo. “Last year I finished second and this year first, it feels great!” said Volcom’s Troy Eckert from the awards podium.
The action in the Industry class was not to disappoint. After compiling the 2 day results, the team of Don Szabo/Glen Gordy handily finished first while Fox’s Jim Anfuso/Derric Swinford captured second. Rounding out the top three were Ryan Corum/Jeremy McCassey.

2007 Surfercross Results

Pro Class

1st Troy Eckert/Ray Sommo 
2nd Max Mcilwee/Oakley Lehman 
3rd Brandon Rambo/Josh Hansen 
4th Josh Sleigh/Jeff Emig 
5th Kai Pattison/Phil Lawrence 

Industry Class

1st Glen Gordy/Don Zabo 
2nd Derric Swinford/Jim Anfuso 
3rd Ryan Corum/Jeremy McCassey 
4th Jonathon Murphy/Alvin Zalamea 
5th Martin Weekley/Joe Hetherington