Ferry To Replace Stewart on MXoN Team

PICKERINGTON, Ohio (August 25, 2007) – AMA Racing announced today that Tim Ferry will replace James Stewart on the 2007 Monster AMA Team USA in this year’s Motocross of Nations (MXoN) scheduled for Sept. 22-23, at Budds Creek Motocross Raceway in Maryland.

Ferry will join Ricky Carmichael and Ryan Villopoto both of whom were named to the American team on Aug.1

James Stewart injured his left knee while competing in round eight of the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship presented by FMF on July 28-29 at Washougal Motocross Park in Washougal, WA.

AMA Racing Motocross/Supercross Director Steve Whitelock commented on the change.  “Of course, we’re disappointed that James will be unable to represent the United States and participate in this year’s MXoN.  James did a fantastic job for the team last year and there’s no question that he is one of the world’s premier motocross riders.  At the same time, we’re confident that Tim will be able to join the team and help us keep the trophy in the United States.  Tim is having one of his best seasons ever in AMA Motocross and that momentum and confidence will be a factor at the MXoN.”

Tim Ferry is tied with Andrew Short for the AMA Motocross class championship lead with three rounds remaining and is one of only four riders to card an overall win this year in the series.

Whitelock added that this year is similar to the 2006 Motocross of Nations when Ivan Tedesco was named to the team to fill in for Ricky Carmichael who was injured and unable to compete.  Tedesco joined Stewart and Villopoto on AMA Team USA and the three were victorious.  From 1981 to 1993, the United States was undefeated in the Motocross of Nations, winning 13 straight times.  Team USA also won in 1996, 2000 and 2005, as well as last year.

The Budd’s Creek event marks just the second time the Motocross of Nations has been held in the United States.  In 1987 the event was held at the Unadilla Valley Sports Center in New Berlin, New York.  Motorcycle Hall of Fame members Bob Hannah, Ricky Johnson and Jeff Ward won that event competing in extremely tough, muddy conditions which many had predicted favored the leading European riders of the time.