Racer X/Toyota Power Rankings

For the first time in the 2007 AMA Toyota Motocross Championship we’re seeing a new rider take possession of the number one spot in our Racer X/Toyota Power Rankings—and it’s no surprise that it’s Monster Energy Kawasaki’s James Stewart. But it is a surprise that he did it without winning a single moto in last weekend’s Thunder Valley National. Stewart miraculously gutted out an overall win with 4-2 moto scores, which was enough to thrust him into the number one spot. He was followed by the Pro Circuit tandem of Ryan Villopoto and Ben Townley, who are currently tied for the Lites points lead. Our former number one, Ricky Carmichael, absent for the second consecutive weekend, fell to fourth, and Tim Ferry remained in fifth.

Davi Millsaps jumped up in our poll

Other big moves came from Team Honda’s Davi Millsaps, whose first-ever AMA Motocross moto win lifted him five spots to number eight. His teammate, Andrew Short, moved up two spots to seventh. Unadilla’s AMA Motocross winner, Kevin Windham, fell five spots to 11th after a dismal day in Colorado. And after another impressive run, privateer Gavin Gracyk swapped positions with Makita Suzuki’s Ivan Tedesco, which puts him in 15th. New to the poll is Moto XXX Honda’s Josh Summey and Brett Metcalfe. Summey finished seventh overall in the AMA Motocross class, and Metcalfe finished fifth in the Lites class.

1. +1 507 7 Stewart James (8) Monster Energy Kawasaki
2. +1 473 1 Villopoto Ryan Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki
3. +1 470 101 Townley Ben Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki
4. -3 457 4 Carmichael Ricky (13) Makita Suzuki
5. 440 15 Ferry Tim Monster Energy Kawasaki
6. +1 418 800 Alessi Mike Red Bull KTM
7. +2 387 29 Short Andrew Factory Honda
8. +5 363 118 Millsaps Davi Factory Honda
9. +3 329 24 Grant Josh Sobe No Fear/Samsung Mobile Honda
10. 325 338 Lawrence Jason Yamaha of Troy Yamaha
11. -5 318 14 Windham Kevin Sobe No Fear/Samsung Mobile Honda
12. -4 290 62 Dungey Ryan Makita Suzuki
13. -2 276 8 Langston Grant Factory Yamaha
14. 239 12 Vuillemin David MDK Motorsports Honda
15. +1 176 273 Gracyk Gavin Honda
16. -1 165 9 Tedesco Ivan Makita Suzuki
17. 126 26 Byrne Michael Rockstar Suzuki
18. 110 73 Weimer Jake Sobe No Fear/Samsung Mobile Honda
19. new 102 36 Summey Josh Moto XXX Honda
20. new 101 123 Metcalfe Brett Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki
21. -2 101 60 Hepler Broc Factory Yamaha
22. +2 100 30 McFarlane Andrew Rockstar Suzuki
23. -3 76 58 Hill Joshua Factory Yamaha
24. -1 73 52 Hahn Tommy Factory Honda
25. -4 71 22 Reed Chad San Manuel Yamaha

Brett Metcalfe enters in 20th

Total number of votes: 21

Linda Ardehali, Vince Arimitsu, John Ayers, Jason Berry, John Bodnar, Chris Bond, Andy Bowyer, Erv Braun, Paul Buckley, Dave Castillo, David Clabaugh, Davey Coombs, Steve Cox, Simon Cudby, Jeff Emig, Mike Farber, Jason Fleming, Steve Giberson, Jason Hooper, Frank Hoppen, Steven Hudson, Chris Hultner, David Izer, Eric Johnson, Jeff Kardas, Jim Kimball, Scotty LaLonde, Stephan Legrand, Brian Leib, Mario Marini, Steve Matthes, Nick McCabe, David Pingree, Dave Prater, Pat Schutte, Alan Selk, BJ Smith, Bryan Stealey, Denny Stephenson, Carl Stone, Michael Stusiak, Jean Turner, Billy Ursic, Scott Wallenberg, Matt Ware, Jason Weigandt, Wes Williams, Billy Wood, Brad Zimmerman