Champions Race at AMA Vintage Motorcycle Days

A full gate of past motocross champions is expected for the American Historic Racing Motorcycle Association vintage motocross race on July 28 during AMA Vintage Motorcycle Days, the AMA and AHRMA have jointly announced.

The following are expected to attend: Tony DiStefano, Brad Lackey, Danny LaPorte, Rick Johnson, Gary Jones, Billy Liles, Andy Stacy, Graham Noyce, Gary Semics, Mickey Kessler, Marty Smith, Tommy Croft, Ron Lechien, Rick Sieman, Marty Tripes, Jeff Smith, Dick Mann, John DeSoto, Jimmy Weinert, Mike Bell, Rex Staten, Donnie Hansen, Mark Barnett and Ron Pomeroy.

The Champions Race will run at 12:30 p.m. on Saturday, July 28, during the VMX program on the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course motocross track next to the spectator camping area. An autograph session will follow.

Updated information on which racers will attend will be posted at as it is received. AHRMA Eastern Off-Road Director Alex Moroz also is soliciting supporters to sponsor bikes for the racers. If you wish to help out, contact Moroz at or (315) 415-6478.

Additionally, DiStefano is being saluted as the Legends of MX honoree. The Legends group is honoring a different MX standout at each of AHRMA's 17 vintage motocross nationals. The '70s superstar, who won three 250 national titles and is a member of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame, also will present a session of his famed MX school on Friday, July 27. Sign-up information will be posted at as it is available.