Budds Creek Stats


Round Four of AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Presented by FMF

Budds Creek Motocross Park – Budds Creek, Md.
June 16-17, 2007

Statistical Report

AMA Motocross Stats:

First race, May 22, 1994, with Mike LaRocco winning on a Kawasaki.
This will be the 14th time the gate will drop for an AMA Motocross national at Budds Creek.

Budds Creek wins by brand:

Honda – 6

Kawasaki – 3

Suzuki – 2

Yamaha – 2

First time winner at Southwick:  Ezra Lusk, Yamaha (1997).
Ricky Carmichael has never lost an AMA Motocross overall at Budds Creek, with seven consecutive wins (14 motos entered, 12 moto wins). He also has two overall victories in the 125 class, now known as AMA Motocross Lites.

Last win by brand at Southwick:  Suzuki – 2006, Honda - 2004, Kawasaki - 2001, and Yamaha - 1998. Carmichael is the last winner for Suzuki, Honda and Kawasaki, with Doug Henry winning on a Yamaha in ’98.

There have been two brand sweeps at Budds Creek [when a brand whens both classes):  Honda in 1995 and ’96,
-Before Carmichael’s recent win streak, seven different riders won the overall at Southwick from 1993-99 (Mike Kiedrowski – 1993, Mike LaRocco – 1994, Jeff Emig – 1995, Jeremy McGrath – 1996, John Dowd – 1997, Doug Henry – 1998, and Ezra Lusk – 1999).
Riders to win overall at Southwick in both classes during career: Carmichael. Kiedrowski, Henry and Dowd.
Of the 124 rounds AMA Motocross Carmichael raced since 1997, he has won at least one moto 108 times.
Carmichael’s win last week gave him 99 combined AMA Motocross wins for his career. He also has 147 SX/MX wins in his career.
Carmichael has never lost the fourth round of an AMA Motocross series in his 10-year career.
For the eighth consecutive season, Carmichael holds the points lead after three rounds.
For the first time in series history, five different brands finished in the top five at Budds Creek, with Suzuki, Kawasaki, Yamaha, Honda and KTM rounding out the top five, respectively.
Since 1997, there have been 123 rounds of AMA Motocross.

AMA Motocross Lites Stats:

First race, October 8, 1989, with Mike Kiedrowski winning on a Honda.
This will be the 18th time the gate will drop for an AMA Motocross Lites national at Budds Creek.
Budds Creek wins by brand:

Kawasaki – 7

Honda – 7

Yamaha – 2

Suzuki – 1

In 1999, Carmichael posted the worst moto finish of his career, 28th, at Southwick.
First time winner at Budds Creek:  Tallon Vohland, Honda (1999).
James Stewart and Steve Lamson are the only riders to win three consecutive races at Budds Creek.
Carmichael is the only AMA Motocross Lites rider to win in both classes at Budds Creek.
Last win by brand at Southwick:  Kawasaki – 2006, Honda – 2005, Yamaha – 2000, and Suzuki – 1991.

SCHEDULE: Saturday (June 16 ) - Pro practice, 1:00-3:25 pm., Pre-qualifiers 3:45 pm.; Sunday (June 17) - Practice, 9:00-10:30 am. Qualifying, 10:45 am. Opening Ceremonies, 12:30 pm. Final events start at 1:00 pm with two 30-minute, plus two lap motos for each class.

Tickets are now available online at www.buddscreek.com and at the gate &60 (Friday-Sunday), $50 (Saturday & Sunday) $30 (Sunday only). Early entry pit passes are also available at the gate: $30 (Saturday & Sunday) from 10:00 a.m. -1:00 p.m. and $20 (Sunday only) 9:00 a.m. - Noon.

Interview opportunities are available to the media by contacting AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Media Manager Tony Gardea via email tgardea@amaproracing.com or by phone at 949-365-5750.

Credential requests for each round of the 2007 AMA Toyota Motocross Championship, presented by FMF, must be submitted via email to tgardea@amaproracing.com three weeks prior to the race. Media members interested in interviews with the riders of the Toyota AMA Motocross Championship, presented by FMF, should contact Next Level Sports Management at 949-365-5750 or email tgardea@amaproracing.com.

For more information on the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship, presented by FMF, log onto www.amamotocross.com for live timing and scoring and www.motocross.com for Racer X Illustrated’s comprehensive web coverage including audio and streaming video.