Bench Racing Ammo: Hangtown History

May 15, 2007 12:37pm

Steve Lamson has four Hangtown victories on his resume, and he's coming back this year on a CR125 two-stroke!

photo: Mike Balzer

It’s hard to believe, but the opening round of the 2007 AMA Toyota Motocross Championships is less than a week away. As it has for the past few seasons, the season is kicking off with the Hangtown Motocross Classic in Sacramento, CA. So for this installment of Motosport Outlet’s Bench Racing Ammo, we’ve decided to give you some Hangtown History.
The track actually sits on the Prairie City OHV Park, and the State OHV Department works in conjunction with the Dirt Diggers Motorcycle Club to provide upkeep to the facility.

The Dirt Diggers Motorcycle Club was created in 1967, when a group of eight local enthusiasts met and discussed a shared dream of holding a national event.

The winningest rider of the Hangtown Motocross Classic is none other than Ricky Carmichael, but local favorite Steve Lamson is second on that list with four Hangtown victories, all coming in the Lites class.

Now here’s a list of the overall winners over the last decade at Hangtown.

AMA Motocross class – James Stewart (Kaw)
AMA MX Lites class – Mike Alessi (KTM)

250cc class – Ricky Carmichael (Suz)
125cc class – Grant Langston (Kaw)

250cc class – Ricky Carmichael (Hon)
125cc class – James Stewart (Kaw)

250cc class – Ricky Carmichael (Hon)
125cc class – Ryan Hughes (KTM)

250cc class – Ricky Carmichael (Hon)
125cc class – James Stewart (Kaw)

250cc class – Sebastien Tortelli (Hon)
125cc class – Grant Langston (KTM)

250cc class – David Vuillemin (Yam)
125cc class – Steve Lamson (Hon)

250cc class – Kevin Windham (Hon)
125cc class – Ricky Carmichael (Kaw)

250cc class – Jeremy McGrath (Yam)
125cc class – Steve Lamson (Hon)

250cc class – Greg Albertyn (Suz)
125cc class – Ricky Carmichael (Kaw)

For more information about the Honda Hangtown Motocross Classic Presented by MDK Motorsports, please call 1-800-HANGTOWN or visit them online at