Racer X Top 25 Power Rankings

February 28, 2007 7:26am | by:
The new Racer X Power Rankings are out, and we have some big changes. First, our panel of pollsters felt that Ricky Carmichael's efforts in his return race at Atlanta were worthy of moving him back ahead of Chad Reed, who finished a distant third in the Georgia Dome behind #1-ranked James Stewart and Carmichael.

Darcy Lange debuts at 15th

photo: Simon Cudby

Also, the East Region guys are in the mix now, and Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey debuts at #10 after his strong win. That makes him the third-ranked Lites rider of all, as Ryan Villopoto holds on to fourth while Jason Lawrence sits in eighth. Also, Darcy Lange comes in at #15 after his own strong ride. The biggest surprise may be Ben Townley, who looked like he had a great chance of winning in his U.S. Supercross debut before his motor let go halfway through the main. Even though he was almost last in the results, "BT101" is #19 in our weekly rankings. Here's the whole rankings, as well as a list of all the folks who voted this week.

696 7 StewartJames Monster Energy Kawasaki
2. +1 674 4 CarmichaelRicky Makita Suzuki
3. -1 638 22 ReedChad San Manuel Band of Mission Indians Yamaha
611 51 VillopotoRyan Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki
573 15 FerryTim Monster Energy Kawasaki
530 14 WindhamKevin Sobe No Fear/Samsung Mobile Honda
7. +3 475 9 TedescoIvan Makita Suzuki
8. -1 459 338 LawrenceJason Yamaha of Troy Yamaha
9. -1 415 11 PrestonTravis Sobe No Fear/Samsung Mobile Honda
10. New Entry 398 62 DungeyRyan Makita Suzuki
366 12 VuilleminDavid MDK Motorsports Honda
12. -3 350 26 ByrneMichael Rockstar Suzuki
323 24 GrantJosh Sobe No Fear/Samsung Mobile Honda
14. -2 237 27 WeyNicholas MDK Motorsports Honda
15. New Entry 237 105 LangeDarcy Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki
234 58 HillJoshua Factory Yamaha
17. -3 227 13 VossHeath Privateer Honda
18. -3 209 102 GosselaarChristopher Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki
19. New Entry 200 101 TownleyBen Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki
20. -3 161 37 CarpenterPaul Cernic's Kawasaki
21. -2 152 377 PourcelChristophe Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki
22. New Entry 150 33 GoerkeMatt Yamaha of Troy Yamaha
23. -5 129 73 WeimerJake Sobe No Fear/Samsung Mobile Honda
24. -3 112 40 GibsonJeff Cernic's Kawasaki
25. -5 89 577 DavalosMartin Red Bull KTM

Total number of votes 28

Linda Ardehali, Vince Arimitsu, John Ayers, Jason Berry, John Bodnar, Chris Bond, Andy Bowyer, Paul Buckley, Dave Castillo, David Clabaugh, Davey Coombs, Steve Cox, Simon Cudby, Jeff Emig, Mike Farber, Jason Fleming, Steve Giberson, Jason Hooper, Frank Hoppen, Steven Hudson, Chris Hultner, David Izer, Eric Johnson, Jeff Kardas, Jim Kimball, Scotty LaLonde, Stephan Legrand, Mario Marini, Nick McCabe, David Pingree, Dave Prater, Pat Schutte, Alan Selk, BJ Smith, Bryan Stealey, Denny Stephenson, Carl Stone, Michael Stusiak, Jean Turner, Billy Ursic, Scott Wallenberg, Matt Ware, Jason Weigandt, Billy Wood