MDK/Lucas Oil/Yamaha and WWR Place 4 Riders in Main Events

February 20, 2007 7:34am

Newbury Park, CA.  MDK/Lucas Oil/Yamaha and the 2007 Wonder Warthog Racing (WWR) programs nabbed 4 spots in the main events at Qualcomm Stadium. 

Riders in the Amp’d Mobile Supercross Series were greeted in San Diego with nearly perfect weather and a track less technical than they’ve raced on this year.  O’Neal supported Chris Blose, Ryan Grantom, Vernon McKiddie, and Jacob Saylor stormed the mains this past weekend after all of them qualified directly from their heat races.  Blose is a WWR Dana K Intern while Grantom and McKiddie ride out of the DeCal Works/P-LoK Hog Haven.  Saylor is the primary rider on the MDK/Lucas Oil/Yamaha team.  This was the first time that a rider from each of the WWR programs made main events on the same night.

Chris Blose earned the team’s weekly “Barnett Clutch Performance” award by racing his MDK Speed/DrD/Enzo-built Yamaha into a transfer position after crashing in the first turn.

Fellow intern Adam Chatfield was awarded the Asterisk Medical Card for the second week in a row, when he was narrowly beaten for the final transfer spot in the LCQ by Yamaha of Troy standout Kyle Cunningham.

Clay Higgins, Ramon Guzman, Charles Castloo, and Antonio Balbi were all close to making the main at times throughout the evening.

Josh Wisenor, a Motorcycle Mechanics Institute (MMI) Intern, did a fine job as a substitute mechanic, helping Jacob reach his first main event this year.

“The riders and the crew are hitting on all cylinders.  We’re making mains, which has been our goal since we started”, said Steve Bauer, Race Program Manager for WWR.  “One team putting four riders into the main is pretty uncommon, but we did it.  Going back East is going to be a whole new challenge.”

The team has now placed seven (7) different riders in a total of seventeen (17) main events.  

All ten (10) riders qualified for the night program.  The qualified rider roster this week included Antonio Balbi, Chris Blose, Ted Campbell, Charles Castloo, Adam Chatfield, Ryan Grantom, Ramon Guzman, Clay Higgins, Vernon McKiddie, and Jacob Saylor.

WWR also wishes to congratulate Ryan Villopoto on his West Coast Lites Championship.  Great job, Ryan!

The next stop on the 2007 Hog Haven Tour will be Saturday, February 24th at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta.  Hog Haven apparel can be purchased at the LiveNation merchandise trailer in the pits or at All WWR proceeds go towards funding their privateer support programs.  Drop in to visit the entire team at