Makita Suzuki’s Tedesco Picks up Top-10 Finish

February 5, 2007 10:17pm

Round 5 – Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series
Anaheim, CA
Angel Stadium
Feb. 3, 2007

Team Makita Suzuki Racing’s Ivan Tedesco finished up the third Anaheim, Calif., Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross at Angel Stadium on Saturday night with a solid top-10 finish. Teammate Ricky Carmichael did not race due to his abbreviated schedule; the 2006 AMA Supercross and Motocross Champion will return to Supercross at the Atlanta round later this month.
“I struggled all weekend,” said Tedesco.  “And then it seemed that things were getting better in the second practice session and in the heat race.   In the main, I was struggling again and I went down when the front end washed out on about lap 15.”
Earlier in the evening, Tedesco lined up for the first Supercross-class heat race.  The Makita Suzuki rider got a good start on his RM-Z450 and was in second place when the eight-lap race was red flagged due to an injured rider.  A complete restart saw Tedesco capture the holeshot as well as an impressive second-place finish.  In the 20-lap main, however, Tedesco had a few difficulties.
“Ivan made some decisions about settings with the suspension during the week that worked for him,” said Makita Suzuki Team Manager Roger Decoster.  “But tonight, the conditions were different and we just made some wrong choices with the suspension.”

Team Makita Suzuki Racing will return next week for round six of the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series at Reliant Stadium in Houston, TX, on Saturday, Feb. 10, 2007.

Ivan Tedesco, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z450, #9
10th Place – Supercross class, Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series
10th Place – Overall Championship Points Standings
Ricky Carmichael, Team Makita Suzuki Racing RM-Z450, #4
DNR – Supercross class, Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series

Supercross Class Top 10 Finishers:

James Stewart, Kawasaki
Chad Reed, Yamaha
Timmy Ferry, Kawasaki
Nick Wey, Honda (holeshot)
Michael Byrne, Suzuki
Nathan Ramsey, Yamaha
Kevin Windham, Honda
Heath Voss, Honda
Paul Carpenter, Kawasaki
Ivan Tedesco, Team Makita Suzuki Racing

Supercross Lites Class Top 10 Finishers:

Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki (holeshot)
Josh Grant, Honda
Jason Lawrence, Yamaha
Josh Hill, Yamaha
Josh Hansen, KTM
Jake Weimer, Honda
Chris Gosselaar, Kawasaki
Kyle Partridge, Honda
Kyle Cunningham, Yamaha
Matthew Lemoine, Yamaha