WMG Athletes Dominate the 2006 Arby’s Action Sports Awards

December 3, 2006 5:40pm

Los Angeles, California – November 30, 2006 – WMG Athletes dominated the first annual Arby’s action sports awards by capturing an amazing five categories including Rider of the Year and Huevos Grandes.

In a night where WMG athletes captured 25% of the awards, it should have come as no surprise that the first award of the night would go to WMG’s newest athlete, skateboarding phenom Ryan Sheckler. Sheckler kicked off the night by winning Skateboarder of the Year, the first of his two awards. The sixteen year old X Games Gold Medalist also won the highly coveted Rider of the Year, an award he and his good friend and fellow WMG Athlete Travis Pastrana both desperately wanted to win. While Sheckler may have won that award, Pastrana didn’t go home empty handed. The star of X Games 12 also won two awards, Freestyle Motocross Rider of the Year and Hueveos Grande, a category dedicated to the craziest and biggest stunt pulled in 2006.  Pastrana’s unbelievable double back-flip proved insurmountable and he was easily granted the award. BMX Rider of the Year went to Ryan Guettler, the 2005 Dew Tour Champion. After being plagued with injuries in 2006, the usually soft spoken Guettler was ecstatic with the award and said he hopes to reward his fans with a stellar 2007.

To see the show in its entirety be sure to tune in to Fox on December 10, 2006 as its broadcast nationwide.