Jeff Stanton Sweeps Red Bud Grass Race

October 17, 2006 11:12am

Former National MX/SX champ and his young son head up a competitive field of racing this past weekend at Michigan’s famous motocross racing facility 

BUCHANAN, Mich., (Oct. 17, 2006) – Nearly 600 competitors from all over the Midwest converged upon RedBud this past Sunday for the 2006 competition season’s last fun-filled romp across the grounds of one of America’s premier motocross facilities at the annual running of the Throttle Jockey Grass Race @ RedBud.

In the halftime features events, the XR 75 Races, Jeff Stanton from nearby Sherwood, Mich., reclaimed both the Single Shock and Twin Shock class titles.

"I got a bit of a break in the Twin Shock class when Derek’s (Rose) bike quit,” said Stanton. “But I’ll take it – he’s younger than me (laughter).”

Prior to Stanton’s sweep of the XR 75 classes he got to see his son, Toren, win his first title at RedBud. The young Stanton came from behind in moto one of the Wobbler class (kind of an MX 101 prep class) to take a 2-1 moto win over Indiana’s Tyler Hostetler.

By far the most competitive classes were the Vets. According to event promoter Amy Ritchie, the “DeCoster of the Grass Race,” Connie Feist, topped the 43-rider 40 Plus field and the 30-rider 45 Plus class. And in the 30 and 35 Plus class there were a heated battles all day between John Grewe and Jay Wagner, with the pair splitting the class wins. Said Stanton of the win-at-all-costs racing between Grewe and Wagner: “You’ve gotta love that old Michigan Mafia stuff!”

Other class winners on the weekend included:

Racer                          Class                           Hometown

Greg Watson               Evolution                     Niles, Mich.

Allan Doneth               Innovation                    Warren, Mich.

Greg Durivage             Non-current                  Waterville, Ohio

Larry Witmer               Vintage                        Elkhart, Ind.

Nathan Crambell          Vintage Schoolboy      Owosso, Mich.

Robert Wagner            Widowmaker               Niles, Mich.

Andrew Ramsey          50cc 4-6                      Chesterton, Ind.

Michael Strunk            50cc 7-8                      Crown Point, Ind.

Jacob Wagner             50cc Trail 7-8               Warsaw, Ind.

Alex Fish                    Wobbler Advanced      South Bend, Ind.

Andrew Ramsey          50cc Jr.                       Chesterton, Ind.

Jacob Williamson        50cc Sr.                      Swartz Creek, Mich.

Kamil Radlinski           65cc Beginner              Carol Stream, Ill.

Angelique Rees           85cc Beginner              Demotte, Ind.

Austin Davis               Trailblazer Jr.               South Bend, Ind.

Ken Bartoszewicz       Trailblazer Sr.               New Carlisle, Ind.

Jacob Williamson        65cc 7-9                      Swartz Creek, Mich.

Jacob Behringer          65cc 10-11                   Defiance, Ohio

Lucas Lowe                85cc Jr.                        Lennon, Mich.

Brian Nelson               85cc Sr.                       Wyoming, Mich.

Lucas Lowe                85cc 9-13                     Lennon, Mich.

Nicholas Faoro           85cc C                         Saint John, Ind.

Eric Saunders             Supermini                     Lakeville, Ind.

Mitchell Hough           2 Stroke                       Fountaintown, Ind.

Michell Hough            125cc Jr.                      Fountaintown, Ind.

Tim Walker                125cc Jr. 4-Stroke        Sylvania, Ohio

Brett Wagner              125cc A                       Niles, Mich.

Greg Durivage            125cc B                       Waterville, Ohio

Ryan Tate                  125cc C                       Berkey, Ohio

Dustin Pulley              250cc Open A             Columbia City, Ind.

Greg Durivage            250cc Open B             Waterville, Ind.

Todd Vander Ark       250cc Open C             Grand Haven, Mich.

Michael Tomanek       16-24                           Grand Rapids, Mich.

Casey Wood              25+                             Howe, Ind.

David Bockman          25+ Sport                   Fort Wayne, Ind.

Brett Remesik             35+ Sport                   Wauseon, Ohio

Jeff Heaston               50+                             Alexandria, Ind.

Lindsay Mason           Women Jr.                  New Carlisle, Ind.

Allison Vrba               Women Sr.                 Albion, Ind.

RedBud congratulates all the racers that participated and sends out a “Big Thanks” to the sponsors that donated prizes, including: title sponsor Throttle Jockey, Mechanix Wear, No Toil and Moto Tees, and to Moose Racing for providing the track marking tape. Noteworthy: Throttle Jockey has already committed to the 2007 Grass Race with plans for more fun and prizes!

XR 75 class Grass Race regulars Derek Rose (#298) and Jeff Stanton (#2) dice it up at the start of the old school Twin Shock class.

photo: John Hanson

photo: John Hanson